Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Neurology - Pediatric

McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • A 12-week structured self-directed block on neuroanatomy and the neurosciences, assessed by written and oral examinations.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents take part in a Complex Pediatric Epilepsy Program that includes epilepsy surgery evaluation and ketogenic diet management.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • In Transition to Practice, training is tailored to either an academic career or a community career.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's Pediatric Neurology residency is a 5-year program based at McMaster Children's Hospital in Hamilton.
  • Adult neurology training takes place at Hamilton General Hospital and Juravinski Hospital, and developmental training at the Ron Joyce Children's Centre.
  • Residents get 4 weeks of protected research time each year and are expected to complete a research, quality improvement or education project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • structured self-directed learning about the fundamentals of neuroanatomy and the neurosciences (Foundations of Discipline · 12 week)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • McMaster Children’s Hospital
  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • Ron Joyce Children’s Centre
  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At McMaster Children’s Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre, Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamPediatric - Neurology25 years1 date, 26 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster's Pediatric Neurology Residency Program offers a flexible, supportive training environment that prepares residents for diverse career paths in pediatric neurology.
  • The program emphasizes a well-rounded approach, balancing professional responsibilities with personal life and providing individualized learning experiences for both academic and community-based pediatric neurologists.
Research
Residents are provided 4 weeks of annual protected research time and a half-day every second week for research, with options for academic research, quality improvement, or educational projects.
Training setting
Training occurs at McMaster Children's Hospital, a 142-bed acute care facility serving a diverse population of 2.2 million in Central South Ontario, with additional training sites including Hamilton General Hospital and Juravinski Hospital.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with a focus on progressive independence, personalized learning environments, and achieving Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) in a supportive, non-threatening setting.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic achievement
  • Elective experiences
  • Communication skills
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeneuroped@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurology - Pediatric elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - Neurology - PediatricUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Ottawa - Neurology - PediatricUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 410 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 560 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36040 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?