Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Neurology - Pediatric

University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Mon 18 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 19 Jan 2027virtual

2 dates, 19–22 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Final-year junior attending roles on both the general inpatient and neurocritical care services.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • One call-protected elective block each year, usable for away electives in Canada or internationally.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Stollery catchment extends to the Northwest Territories and parts of Nunavut.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year pediatric neurology residency in Edmonton, with most rotations at the University of Alberta Hospital/Stollery Children's Hospital site.
  • Residents complete 1-6 blocks of protected research time and at least one scholarly project, and run a longitudinal continuity clinic from second year.
  • Following its November 2025 accreditation review, the program was recommended for Accredited Program on Notice of Intent to Withdraw Accreditation status.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service2 Blocks
  • Pediatric CTU2 Blocks
  • Neonatal ICURoyal Alexandra Hospital1 Block
  • Pediatric Night Float1 Block
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine1 Block
  • Pediatric Psychiatry1 Block
  • Developmental Pediatrics1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurosurgery1 Block
  • Pediatric Hematology-Oncology1 Block
  • Pediatric Selective (1 of: Cardiology, Rheumatology, Endocrinology, Infectious Disease)1 Block
  • Vacation1 Block
  • Orientationfirst 2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Pediatric ICU1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
  • Metabolics/Genetics1 Block
  • Pediatric Physiatry1 Block
  • Research1 Block
  • Pediatric Cardiovascular ICU0.5 Blocks
PGY-3
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
  • Neuromuscular1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block
  • Pediatric Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
PGY-4
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Multiple Sclerosis1 Block
  • Pediatric Palliative Care1 Block
  • Neuropathology1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block
  • Adult Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
PGY-5
  • Elective (Clinic, Epilepsy, Movement Disorders, Stroke, Multiple Sclerosis, Neuro-ophthalmology, Neuromuscular, Community, etc.)5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Inpatient (Senior Resident)1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, General Inpatient Service1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Research (1-6 Blocks (over all 5 years))
PGY-1
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service2 Blocks
  • Pediatric CTU2 Blocks
  • Neonatal ICURoyal Alexandra Hospital1 Block
  • Pediatric Night Float1 Block
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine1 Block
  • Pediatric Psychiatry1 Block
  • Developmental Pediatrics1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurosurgery1 Block
  • Pediatric Hematology-Oncology1 Block
  • Pediatric Selective (1 of: Cardiology, Rheumatology, Endocrinology, Infectious Disease)1 Block
  • Vacation1 Block
  • Orientationfirst 2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Adult Neurology Inpatient2 Blocks
  • Pediatric ICU1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
  • Metabolics/Genetics1 Block
  • Pediatric Physiatry1 Block
  • Research1 Block
  • Pediatric Cardiovascular ICU0.5 Blocks
PGY-3
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Electives2.5 Blocks
  • Adult Neurology Inpatient2 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
  • Neuromuscular1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block
  • Pediatric Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
PGY-4
  • Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
  • Electives2.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
  • Adult Neurology1 Block
  • Multiple Sclerosis1 Block
  • Pediatric Palliative Care1 Block
  • Neuropathology1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block
  • Adult Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
PGY-5
  • Research1-6 Blocks (over all 5 years)
  • Elective5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Clinics3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Inpatient (Senior Resident)1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, General Inpatient Service1.5 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
  • Call-Protected Elective1 Block

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 4 teaching sites.

  • Stollery Children's Hospital
  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Stollery Children's Hospital, University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
19 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

  • Mon 18 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Edmonton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202300
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 19 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG streamPositions not stated5 years2 dates, 19–22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamPediatric - Neurology15 years2 dates, 2–3 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta Pediatric Neurology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in pediatric neurology, emphasizing a diverse clinical experience across multiple subspecialties.
  • The program is distinguished by its collegial environment, large and diverse faculty group, and strong support for resident research and professional development.
Research
Residents are expected to actively participate in research, with 1-6 protected research blocks and support for local, national, and international conference presentations.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center at the Stollery Children's Hospital within the University of Alberta Hospital, with satellite facilities at Royal Alexandra Hospital and Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing comprehensive clinical experiences, research participation, and individualized learning paths.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Letters of reference
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Medical Education Program Coordinator

Write to the officepedneuro@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurology - Pediatric elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - Neurology - PediatricUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - Neurology - PediatricUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 818 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Hamilton, ON · 2,700 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 29 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Notice of intent to withdraw accreditation · CaRMS program IDs 36045 (CMG stream), 35731 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream