Vancouver - Ophthalmology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Vancouver, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Mandatory senior ophthalmology rotation in Fort St John, northern British Columbia.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- UBC Ophthalmology is a 5-year residency centred in Vancouver, based at the UBC Eye Care Centre on the Vancouver General Hospital campus.
- Training also uses St. Paul's, Mount St. Joseph's and BC Children's hospitals, with Foundations assignments possible in New Westminster or Victoria and a mandatory senior rotation in Fort St John.
- Residents must take part in research with scheduled time, take home call, and attend a 6-week TORIC course in Toronto.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- various adult and pediatric ophthalmology clinics (Transition to Discipline · 1 month)
- internal medicine (Core)
- emergency (Core)
- neurology (Core)
- dedication ophthalmology block (Core)
- TORIC course (Core · 6 weeks · Toronto)
- retina (Foundations)
- cornea (Foundations)
- glaucoma (Foundations)
- oculoplastics (Foundations)
- pediatrics ophthalmology (Foundations)
- neuro-ophthalmology (Foundations)
- uveitis (Foundations)
- oncology (Foundations)
- low vision (Foundations)
- emergency clinics (Foundations)
- dedicated OR blocks (Foundations)
- mandatory ophthalmology rotation (senior years · Fort St John)
Where you train
Vancouver, British Columbia: 7 teaching sites.
- Vancouver General Hospital & Eye Care Centre
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Fort St John (Fort St John · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 7, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
Vancouver General Hospital & Eye Care Centre
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
About Vancouver
People
662,248residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.7%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
5.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
10 Ophthalmology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- Home call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 5 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Ophthalmology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce high-quality ophthalmologists with strong clinical, research, and teaching skills.
- The program follows the Competence by Design (CBD) framework and provides residents with extensive clinical experiences across multiple hospital sites in British Columbia.
- Research
- Residents are required to actively participate in research projects, with dedicated research time and support from the Resident Research Director.
- Training setting
- Urban medical centers in Vancouver and Lower Mainland, with training across multiple hospital sites including academic and community hospitals.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education (CBME) with progressive skill development through four training stages: Transition to Discipline, Core, Foundations, and Transition to Practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Elective evaluations
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Bryon McKay
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
UBC Ophthalmology Residency Training Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From residents
Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Ophthalmology elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver
Did this page answer your question?
