Skip to content
CdnMD

Saskatoon - Ophthalmology

University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Saskatoon, 7 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Resident-to-faculty ratio of 1:2.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Saskatchewan offers a five-year ophthalmology residency centred on the Saskatoon City Hospital Eye Care Centre.
  • The basic clinical year is done in Saskatoon and/or Regina, and PGY-1 ends with the 6-week TORIC course in Toronto.
  • Each resident must complete a research project, and community rotations are mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-1
  • TORIC (Toronto Ophthalmic Resident Introductory Course)Toronto, Ontario6 weeks
  • OphthalmologySaskatoon and/or Regina
  • Internal MedicineSaskatoon and/or Regina
  • NeurologySaskatoon and/or Regina
  • Emergency MedicineSaskatoon and/or Regina
  • Pediatrics
  • Endocrinology
  • Rheumatology
  • Neuroimaging/Radiology
  • ENT
  • Dermatology
  • Plastic Surgery

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 7 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Saskatoon City Hospital Eye Care Center
  • Royal University Hospital
  • St. Paul's Hospital
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
  • PrairieView Surgical Centre
  • Regina General Hospital (Regina)
  • Pasqua Hospital (Regina)

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital.
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Saskatoon

  • People

    266,141residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saskatoon

  • Housing

    3.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saskatoon (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years1 date, 3 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan offers a comprehensive five-year Ophthalmology residency program designed to train competent general ophthalmologists.
  • The program provides extensive clinical and surgical training with a focus on preparing residents for the Royal College specialty examination and producing excellent clinicians with advanced surgical skills.
Research
Each resident must initiate and complete a research project during residency, with strong encouragement for conference presentations.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Saskatoon at multiple hospital sites including Saskatoon City Hospital, Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, and Jim Pattison Children's Hospital, with additional rotations in Regina.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive skill development, emphasizing comprehensive clinical training, research skills, and professional competence across diverse clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper test
  • Academic record
  • Elective experiences
  • Research portfolio
  • Personal letter
  • References
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Todd Buglass

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Ophthalmology elsewhere

Nearest to Saskatoon

  • Edmonton - OphthalmologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 484 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Calgary - OphthalmologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 525 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Winnipeg - OphthalmologyUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 711 km

    2 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 3 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36190 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?