Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Ophthalmology

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Thu 4 Feb 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 5 Feb 2027virtual

Edmonton, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated Ophthalmic Surgical Skills Centre wet lab with surgical simulator and 24-hour resident access.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Alberta Ophthalmology residency is a five-year program centred on the Regional Eye Centre at the Royal Alexandra Hospital.
  • PGY-1 includes off-service rotations and the mandatory six-week TORIC course, and the core cataract surgery year spans the end of PGY-4 into PGY-5.
  • Residents must take part in research from PGY-2 onwards, and interviews are held online.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • general ophthalmology clinics12 weeks
  • Toronto Ophthalmology Residency Introductory Course (TORIC)six-week
  • shadow and attend all clinics with the PGY-2 resident on calltwo weeks
  • Internal Medicine
  • Pediatrics
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Neurology
  • Rheumatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Neuro-radiology
  • Elective/Research opportunities
PGY-2
  • elective4 weeks
  • preceptor-specific general rotation4-week
  • rotation in ophthalmic diagnostics2-weeks
  • Day CallRegional Eye Centre (Royal Alexandra Hospital)
  • General ClinicsRegional Eye Centre (Royal Alexandra Hospital)
  • GlaucomaRegional Eye Centre (Royal Alexandra Hospital)
  • RetinaRegional Eye Centre (Royal Alexandra Hospital)
PGY-5
  • dedicated study time4 weeks
  • core cataract surgery
  • elective time
  • community/flex rotation

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus (PGY-3 & 4)
  • Oculoplastics (PGY-3 & 4)
  • Glaucoma (PGY-3 & 4)
  • Retina (PGY-3 & 4)
  • Neuro-ophthalmology (PGY-3 & 4)
  • Cornea/external disease (PGY-3 & 4)
  • clinical or research elective time (PGY-3 & 4 · 8 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 6 teaching sites.

  • Regional Eye Centre, Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Stollery Children's Hospital at the University of Alberta Hospital
  • Vision Care Group (LASIK MD), Eye Q Laser
  • Alberta EyeMD
  • Alberta Retina Consultants
  • Glaucoma Consultants

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 6; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regional Eye Centre, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital at the University of Alberta Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

  • Thu 4 Feb 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · For all applicants · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta's Ophthalmology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce exceptional ophthalmologists with high surgical expertise and professional standards.
  • The program offers extensive clinical exposure, diverse learning opportunities, and a supportive educational environment that prepares residents for Royal College specialty examinations.
Research
Residents are required to actively participate in or lead research projects from PGY-2 onwards, with support from clinical researchers and visual scientists.
Training setting
Urban medical training environment in Edmonton, Alberta, with multiple training sites including Royal Alexandra Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, and community eye clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, individualized learning, and a focus on comprehensive patient care and surgical expertise.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Electives
  • Casper test
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officemededovs@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Ophthalmology elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - OphthalmologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Saskatoon - OphthalmologyUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 484 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - OphthalmologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 818 km

    3 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36099 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?