Skip to content
CdnMD

Nanaimo - Family Medicine

University of British ColumbiaNanaimo, British Columbia

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027virtual

Nanaimo, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page · required rural rotation

After residency in British Columbia: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Six full academic weeks per year, with no rotation or off-service call during them, instead of weekly half-days.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Takes part in UBC's Indigenous Home Territory Selection Pathway for ranking Indigenous applicants from local Nations.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents set their own schedules for holidays, call duties and daily work.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The Nanaimo site is a two-year family medicine residency based in Nanaimo, a regional service centre on central Vancouver Island.
  • Each resident builds their own patient panel and follows those patients through both years, including 39 weeks of family practice.
  • Residents complete a mandatory 2-month rural rotation in second year, a first-year quality improvement project and a scholar project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Anesthesia
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Other

By year

PGY-1
  • Internal Medicine5 weeks
  • ICU4 weeks
  • Surgery4 weeks
  • Palliative Care4 weeks
  • Musculoskeletal2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Hospitalist*4 weeks
  • Electives*1-3 weeks
  • Proceduralist Service*2 weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Practice (39 weeks · including one full day in FM during all non-FM experiences)
  • Emergency (4 in R1 and 4 in R2 · 8 weeks)
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology (6 in R1 and 4 in R2 · 10 weeks)
  • Pediatrics (4 weeks in R2 year & 2 weeks in R1 · 6 weeks)
  • Mental Health & Addiction (4 in R1 (2 in Addiction & 2 in Acute) and 4 in R2 (Long Term Management) · 8 weeks)
PGY-1
  • Internal Medicine5 weeks
  • ICU4 weeks
  • Surgery4 weeks
  • Palliative Care4 weeks
  • Musculoskeletal2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Hospitalist4 weeks
  • Electives1-3 weeks
  • Proceduralist Service2 weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Practice (39 weeks · including one full day in FM during all non-FM experiences)
  • Emergency (4 in R1 and 4 in R2 · 8 weeks)
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology (6 in R1 and 4 in R2 · 10 weeks)
  • Pediatrics (4 weeks in R2 year & 2 weeks in R1 · 6 weeks)
  • Mental Health & Addiction (4 in R1 (2 in Addiction & 2 in Acute) and 4 in R2 (Long Term Management) · 8 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Nanaimo, British Columbia: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page; required rural rotation.

About Nanaimo

  • People

    99,863residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Nanaimo

  • Housing

    $1,709one-bedroom rent a month, new tenants

    CMHC, October 2025

  • Winter and summer

    4.1 °CJanuary mean18.2 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Vancouver International (Airport), 58.4 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the town)

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Nanaimo (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 2 Sep 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Salaries from April 2027. One provincial scale for British Columbia, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, British Columbia
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$71,390 / year
PGY-2
$79,571 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDBC agreement, 1 Apr 2025 to 31 Mar 2029. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
Yes. Mandatory
Dental plan
100% Premiums Paid
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Life insurance
100% Premium Paid
Long-term disability insurance
Yes 100% Premiums Paid
Maternity leave
17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
Meal allowance
No
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.5%
Provincial health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory holidays
2 x pay plus extra day with pay

After residency

Family doctors in British Columbia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, visits and enrolled patients: the Longitudinal Family Physician (LFP) Payment Model. The New-to-Practice (NTP) contract is primarily focused on new graduates, for up to two years; the LFP Payment Model is also available to new physicians building a panel. To join: at least 250 empanelled patients within four months of enrolling. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream82 years8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream12 years8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream82 years17 Jan – 8 Feb 2026, listed as a range
IMG stream12 years17 Jan – 8 Feb 2026, listed as a range
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Nanaimo Site offers a learner-centered family medicine residency program with strong educational focus.
  • Residents achieve their own patient population and follow patients throughout their 2-year program, with a comprehensive curriculum that prepares physicians to practice in diverse Canadian communities.
Research
Residents must complete a scholar project and present their work at annual Scholarship Day.
Training setting
Located in Nanaimo, a regional service center on central Vancouver Island with a population of 110,000+. Residents work primarily in community family practice clinics with multiple preceptors.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered curriculum based on principles of effective adult education, focusing on family practice problem-solving skills and integrated rotational approach using CanMEDS-FM roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • File review (20%)
  • MMI interview (75%)
  • FMProC score (5%)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Sarah McCorquodale

  • Dr. Flora Wong

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program and Learning Development Manager, Education Coordinator

Write to the officeresidency@familymed.ubc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Nanaimo

  • Indigenous - Rural Vancouver Island · 0 km

    2 positions · CMG

    Rural
  • Quw'utsun - Family MedicineUniversity of British Columbia

    Quw'utsun · 46 km

    5 positions · CMG

    Regional
  • Vancouver - St. Paul's - Family MedicineUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver - St. Paul's · 61 km

    26 positions · CMG, IMG

    City

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36049 (CMG stream), 36471 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream