Vancouver Island - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver Island, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027
1 date, 4 Feb 2027
Vancouver Island, CMG stream: 8 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 9 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
VGH is the Island's dedicated pediatric hospital; ER physicians lead all pediatric resuscitations.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Optional trauma team leader call is available after completing the PGY-1 trauma block.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Residents can teach and mentor Island Medical Program students from the start of residency.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This is the Vancouver Island site of the 5-year UBC Royal College Emergency Medicine program, based at Victoria General and Royal Jubilee Hospitals in Victoria.
- PGY-1 residents attend an introductory ultrasound course in Vancouver and complete a dedicated ultrasound block later in the year.
- Residents must complete a scholarly research, quality/patient safety or educational project, and housing is provided for core rotations at other UBC sites.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory ultrasound course
- dedicated ultrasound block
- Trauma block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
- PGY-1
- Trauma block
- dedicated ultrasound block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
Where you train
Vancouver Island, British Columbia: CMG stream: 8 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 9 teaching sites.
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH) (New Westminster)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH) (New Westminster)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- University Hospital of Northern BC (UHNBC) (Prince George)
Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: MEDITECH at 2 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive RoS stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Competitive RoS stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), Competitive RoS stream
- 4 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.
14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 4 Feb 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Vancouver Island Emergency Medicine program offers comprehensive medical training supported by the broader UBC program, with a tight-knit residency group and exceptional hands-on learning experiences.
- Located in Victoria, the program provides residents with diverse clinical exposure across two major hospitals, opportunities for early clinical leadership, and a unique West Coast lifestyle.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project relevant to Emergency Medicine, with support and guidance provided to develop research skills and collaborate with faculty.
- Training setting
- Training occurs at Victoria General Hospital and Royal Jubilee Hospital in Victoria, BC, with opportunities for rotations at other UBC sites across British Columbia. The program offers diverse clinical environments including trauma, pediatric, urban, and specialized medical settings.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, emphasizing progressive independence, hands-on learning, simulation-based training, and comprehensive skill development across multiple domains of emergency medicine.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Manager
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver Island
Did this page answer your question?