Fraser - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaFraser, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027
2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027
Fraser, 9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Home to BC's only EM resident trauma fellowship, based at a Level 1 trauma centre.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Off-service rotations often one-on-one with staff because of few learners on site.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
Training starts in R1 directly with EM at RCH and pediatric EM at Surrey.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- UBC Emergency Medicine Fraser is a five-year residency based at Royal Columbian Hospital, a tertiary referral centre.
- Residents also rotate through Surrey Memorial Hospital, BC Children’s Hospital and Vancouver General Hospital, and must complete at least one community EM rotation.
- The program takes up to four residents per year and includes a dedicated PGY-1 ultrasound block.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
- PGY-5
- Area of Concentrated Expertise (ACE)at least six months
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline (Blocks 1–3) · 2 blocks · RCH)
- Pediatric EM (Transition to Discipline (Blocks 1–3) · 1 block · SMH)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 3 blocks)
- Emergency Ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Obstetrics / Gynecology (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Internal Medicine CTU (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Psychiatric Emergency (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Intensive Care (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Orthopedics (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine, including community EM (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · approximately 17 blocks)
- Pediatric EM (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · approximately 4 blocks · SMH / BCCH)
- Trauma (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block minimum)
- Research Methodology (NERD) (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Pre-Hospital Care (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Cardiology / CCU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1–2 blocks)
- Neurology / Stroke (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Anesthesia (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1–2 blocks)
- Toxicology (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Senior ICU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Pediatric ICU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Electives (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline)
- PGY-5
- Area of Concentrated Expertise (ACE)at least six months
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (RCH) (Transition to Discipline (Blocks 1–3) · 2 blocks · RCH)
- Pediatric EM (SMH) (Transition to Discipline (Blocks 1–3) · 1 block · SMH)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 3 blocks)
- Emergency Ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Obstetrics / Gynecology (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Internal Medicine CTU (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Psychiatric Emergency (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Intensive Care (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Orthopedics (Foundations of Discipline (Blocks 4–13) · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine, including community EM (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · approximately 17 blocks)
- Pediatric EM (SMH / BCCH) (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · approximately 4 blocks · SMH / BCCH)
- Trauma (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block minimum)
- Research Methodology (NERD) (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Pre-Hospital Care (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Cardiology / CCU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1–2 blocks)
- Neurology / Stroke (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Anesthesia (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1–2 blocks)
- Toxicology (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Senior ICU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Pediatric ICU (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Electives (PGY-2 to 4 — Core of Discipline)
Where you train
Fraser, British Columbia: 9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Eagle Ridge Hospital
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 3 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Eagle Ridge Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,014
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,496
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Vancouver General Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
BC Children’s Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive RoS stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Competitive RoS stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), Competitive RoS stream
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.
14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Emergency Medicine Fraser site offers a comprehensive 5-year Royal College residency program located at Royal Columbian Hospital in New Westminster.
- Residents experience high-acuity emergency medicine training in a tertiary care trauma center with diverse clinical experiences across multiple sites and a strong commitment to education and resident development.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project and are supported through the NERD course, faculty collaborations, and dedicated research time.
- Training setting
- Primarily based at Royal Columbian Hospital in New Westminster, a tertiary care Level One Trauma Centre, with rotations at multiple hospitals including Surrey Memorial, Eagle Ridge, Vancouver General, and BC Children's Hospital.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, simulation, scholarly activities, and comprehensive skill development across multiple clinical settings.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal Letter
- Reference Letters
- Interview Performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Fraser Program Coordinator, Program Manager
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Fraser
Did this page answer your question?
