Interior - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaInterior, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 21
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027
1 date, 4 Feb 2027
Interior, CMG stream: 12 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 11 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Emergency Medicine is one of only three local postgraduate programs, so there are few competing learners.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Block-length research design course (NERD) in Vancouver for residents from all five UBC sites.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Much off-service rotation time is spent one-on-one with staff consultants.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This is the five-year UBC Royal College Emergency Medicine residency at the Interior (Kelowna) site, based at Kelowna General Hospital, a 440-bed tertiary care centre.
- The site accepts 3-4 residents per year.
- Community emergency medicine rotations can be done in Vernon, Penticton and Kamloops, and housing is provided for core rotations at other UBC sites.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project, and interviews for all UBC sites are held jointly by online video.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory ultrasound course
- dedicated ultrasound block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
Other rotations
- Community Emergency Medicine rotations (Vernon Jubilee Hospital, Penticton Regional Hospital, and Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops))
- PGY-1
- dedicated ultrasound block
Other rotations
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design) (block-length · Vancouver)
Where you train
Interior, British Columbia: CMG stream: 12 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 11 teaching sites.
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- Vernon Jubilee Hospital (Vernon · rural or distributed site)
- Penticton Regional Hospital (Penticton · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
- University Hospital of Northern BC (UHNBC) (Prince George)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna)
- Vernon Jubilee Hospital (Vernon · rural or distributed site)
- Penticton Regional Hospital (Penticton · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: MEDITECH at 6 of 13, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Vernon Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,704
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,249
Penticton Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 3,482
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 837
Show facts for 9 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
University Hospital of Northern BC (UHNBC)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive RoS stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Competitive RoS stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), Competitive RoS stream
- 4 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2027 |
|
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 4 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 3 dates, 21–31 Jan 2026 |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Emergency Medicine Interior Site offers a dynamic, collegial training program in Kelowna, British Columbia.
- Residents benefit from a small program size, early clinical responsibility, and exceptional work-life balance in a beautiful location with unique clinical experiences.
- Research
- Residents are supported in completing a scholarly project relevant to Emergency Medicine, with opportunities to join ongoing faculty research or pursue independent projects.
- Training setting
- Kelowna General Hospital is a 440-bed tertiary care center with a high-volume Emergency Department serving the Okanagan Valley. Training occurs across multiple sites in British Columbia.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, simulation, and individualized teaching across multiple clinical sites.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal Letter
- Reference Letters
- Interview Performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Manager
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Interior
Did this page answer your question?