Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Nuclear Medicine

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
7 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

3 dates, 18–20 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • All residents can do combined training with Royal College certification in both Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Two dedicated nuclear medicine academic half-days per week: one clinical, one basic science/physics.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 7-year Edmonton program offers combined training in Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology leading to Royal College certification in both.
  • Training is based at the University of Alberta Hospital and Royal Alexandra Hospital, with oncology nuclear medicine at the Cross Cancer Institute.
  • Residents must complete a nuclear medicine research project between PGY2 and PGY4.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • radiology training (PGY2-5 · four continuous years)
  • Nuclear medicine training (between PGY3 and PGY5 · six months)
  • Nuclear medicine training (PGY6 and PGY7 · 24 months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 9 teaching sites.

  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Cross Cancer Institute
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital
  • Misericordia Community Hospital
  • Edmonton Radiopharmaceutical Centre and Medical Isotope and Cyclotron Facility
  • Sturgeon
  • Strathcona Community Hospitals
  • Various Outpatient Diagnostic Imaging Clinics

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 9; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Cross Cancer Institute, Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, Sturgeon, Strathcona Community Hospitals.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19 and 20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 7 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year
PGY-6
$98,414 / year
PGY-7
$105,819 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float · frequency “1 in 8 weekends”
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Edmonton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream27 years3 dates, 18–20 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta offers a unique 7-year combined Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology residency program.
  • Residents receive comprehensive training across two Royal College specialties, preparing them to become well-trained, modern nuclear medicine physicians with a strong general imaging background.
Research
Residents must complete one nuclear medicine research project between PGY2 and PGY4, along with an audit project.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban hospitals in Edmonton, including University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Cross Cancer Institute, and community hospitals, providing a diverse and comprehensive clinical experience.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with a focus on producing independent, skilled consultants through progressive learning, emphasizing continuous professional development and team-based care.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CASPer test
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Research
  • Elective evaluations
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officenucmed@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Nuclear Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • London - Nuclear MedicineWestern University

    London, ON · 2,630 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Ottawa - Nuclear MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 2,837 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 2,973 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36222 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?