Skip to content
CdnMD

Red Deer - Family Medicine

University of AlbertaRed Deer, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
9 positions
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

2 dates, 17–18 Jan 2027virtual

3 dates, 22–24 Jan 2027virtual

Red Deer, 2 teaching sites · 40 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Alberta: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Extended 16-week rural family medicine block in first year, plus 8- and 16-week rural blocks in second year.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional six-month integrated Indigenous health pilot at Maskwacis for up to two residents.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year rural family medicine stream of the University of Alberta is based in the regional city of Red Deer.
  • Residents spend 16 weeks in first year and 24 weeks in second year at rural sites, chosen across northern and central Alberta.
  • All residents complete Practice Quality Improvement projects, and a driver's licence and vehicle are mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (40 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Small program
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Addictions2 wks
  • Anesthesia2 wks
  • Dermatology2 wks
  • Elective4 wks
  • Emergency Medicine4 wks
  • General Surgery4 wks
  • Geriatrics2 wks
  • Obs & Gyn8 wks
  • Orthopedics4 wks
  • Pediatrics4 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine16 wks
PGY-2
  • Electives10 wks
  • Emergency Medicine4 wks
  • Internal Medicine4 wks
  • ICU/CCU4 wks
  • Palliative Care2 wks
  • Psychiatry4 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine8 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine16 wks
PGY-1
  • Addictions2 wks
  • Anesthesia2 wks
  • Dermatology2 wks
  • Elective4 wks
  • Emergency Medicine4 wks
  • General Surgery4 wks
  • Geriatrics2 wks
  • Obs & Gyn8 wks
  • Orthopedics4 wks
  • Pediatrics4 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine16 wks
PGY-2
  • Electives10 wks
  • Emergency Medicine4 wks
  • Internal Medicine4 wks
  • ICU/CCU4 wks
  • Palliative Care2 wks
  • Psychiatry4 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine8 wks
  • Rural Family Medicine16 wks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family medicine (16 weeks · Maskwacis)
  • Psych (4 weeks · Maskwacis)
  • Peds (2 weeks · Maskwacis)
  • Addictions (2 weeks · Maskwacis)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Red Deer, Alberta: 2 teaching sites; 40 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Red Deer Regional Hospital
  • Maskwacis (Maskwacis · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Red Deer Regional Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Red Deer

  • People

    100,844residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Red Deer

  • Housing

    $1,170one-bedroom rent a month, new tenants

    CMHC, October 2025

  • Winter and summer

    −11.6 °CJanuary mean16.2 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Red Deer, 11.9 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Red Deer (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
17 and 18 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
Home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

After residency

Family doctors in Alberta can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits, hours worked and enrolled patients: the Primary Care Physician Compensation Model (PCPCM). A new-to-practice physician with fewer than 500 patients can join within 6 months of graduation. To join: 400 hours of direct and indirect care over 40 or more weeks a year. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream92 years2 dates, 17–18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 22–24 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream92 years4 dates, 16 Dec 2025 – 19 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years5 dates, 16 Dec 2025 – 25 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta's Rural Family Medicine program in Red Deer is a decentralized, preceptor-based training stream focused on preparing future rural physicians.
  • The small program allows individualized training with full academic resources, emphasizing comprehensive care and continuity of patient experience in rural settings.
Research
Residents complete four small Evidence-Based Medicine research projects in first year and a Practice Quality Improvement project in second year, with potential conference presentation support.
Training setting
Training occurs in Red Deer (population 100,000) and various rural sites across northern and central Alberta, with a 390-bed regional hospital and multiple community healthcare settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, individual teaching, and comprehensive rural medical practice preparation.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Clinical performance
  • Family Medicine experience
  • References
  • Rural interest/experience
  • FMProC assessment
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Michelle Morros

  • Dr. Alanna BowieStream Co-Director

  • Dr. Cayla GilbertStream Co-Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Stream Administrator

Write to the officerfmrd@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Red Deer

  • Camrose - Family MedicineUniversity of Alberta

    Camrose · 107 km

    2 positions · CMG

    Rural
  • Calgary - Family MedicineUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 137 km

    77 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Edmonton - Family MedicineUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 144 km

    61 positions · CMG, IMG, MOTP-MMTP

    City

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36051 (CMG stream), 35495 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream