Skip to content
CdnMD

Camrose - Family Medicine

University of AlbertaCamrose, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

2 dates, 17–18 Jan 2027virtual

Camrose, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

After residency in Alberta: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Residents follow the same rural preceptors and patients longitudinally for two years, with little travel.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The program says Camrose residents are not service-based and can tailor their clinical duties.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional 6-month integrated Indigenous health pilot at Maskwacis, open to up to 2 residents.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a new two-year rural family medicine stream of the University of Alberta, based in Camrose.
  • Most training happens in Camrose, with 15 weeks of block time in Edmonton and Red Deer.
  • Residents also complete an 8-week off-site rural family medicine block at a U of A rural site of their choice.
  • Quality improvement projects are required, and residents earn CPoCUS IP ultrasound certification.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Small program
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • surgery/gyne/anesthesia (Longitudinal experiences over both years · Five 2-week · home site)
  • Regular obstetrical call (Longitudinal experiences over both years · home site)
  • Regular ER in Camrose (Longitudinal experiences over both years · Camrose)
  • Family Medicine plus: Geriatrics/Palliative/Internal Medicine focus (Half-year)
  • Family Medicine plus: Psychiatry/Chronic Pain/Physiatry focus (Half-year)
  • Family Medicine plus: Women’s Health/Pediatric focus (Half-year)
  • Family Medicine plus: Radiology and extra ER focus (Half-year)
  • Addictions (2 wks · Red Deer)
  • Dermatology (2 wks · Red Deer)
  • ICU/CCU (4 wks · Red Deer)
  • Ortho (4 wks · Red Deer)
  • Electives (4 wks · on or off-site)
  • Pediatric ER (4 wks · Edmonton)
  • Off-site Rural FM (8 wks)
  • Electives (4 wks · on or off-site)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Camrose, Alberta: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community.

  • St. Mary’s Hospital

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

St. Mary’s Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Camrose

  • People

    18,772residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Camrose

  • Housing

    1.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Camrose, Alberta (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.2 °CJanuary mean16.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Camrose, 4.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Camrose (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
17 and 18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

After residency

Family doctors in Alberta can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits, hours worked and enrolled patients: the Primary Care Physician Compensation Model (PCPCM). A new-to-practice physician with fewer than 500 patients can join within 6 months of graduation. To join: 400 hours of direct and indirect care over 40 or more weeks a year. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream22 years2 dates, 17–18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream22 years4 dates, 16 Dec 2025 – 19 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta's Camrose Family Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on rural family medicine.
  • Designed to produce competent, full-service family physicians, the program provides longitudinal learning, diverse clinical experiences, and a supportive community-based environment.
Research
Residents complete four small Evidence-Based Medicine research projects in the first year and a Practice Quality Improvement project in the second year, with potential funding for conference presentations.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Camrose, a vibrant community of 20,000 people located near Edmonton, with additional rotations in rural Alberta sites including Red Deer, Edmonton, and other rural communities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, diverse clinical experiences, and preparation for full-scope rural family practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Clinical performance
  • Family Medicine experience
  • References
  • Rural interest/experience
  • Communication skills
  • Professionalism
  • FMProC assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Stream Administrator

Write to the officerfmcr@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Camrose

  • Edmonton - Family MedicineUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 74 km

    61 positions · CMG, IMG, MOTP-MMTP

    City
  • Red Deer - Family MedicineUniversity of Alberta

    Red Deer · 107 km

    10 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Calgary - Family MedicineUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 235 km

    77 positions · CMG, IMG

    City

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35912 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?