These apply to every offering below unless its row says otherwise.
Offerings 2
Enhanced skills offerings you apply for at University of Alberta
Program
Length
Positions
Applications
Differs from the above
Family Medicine Obstetrics (FMOB) Enhanced SkillsCategory 2 · Obstetrics, maternity and newborn care
Length12 to 16 weeks (3 months plus an optional 4th block)
Positions4 positions for the 2027-28 academic year
ApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026
Differs from the above
Applications, 2027–28:September 8, 2026. File review runs September 9 to October 8, interviews October 9 to November 10, and offers go out between November 24 and December 10, 2026.
Who can apply:Second-year (PGY-2) residents in a Canadian family medicine program, applying for the following academic year. Applicants must hold CCFP certification and Basic Life Support (BLS) certification by the program start.
International medical graduates:not stated
Funding:not stated
How to apply:Send everything in a single message to the program administrator: letter of interest, CV, the program director's letter of support, in-training evaluation reports, and proof of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) exam. Referees send their letters separately. Applications do not go through CaRMS.
Start dates:Summer 2027 (2027-28 academic year)
Accreditation:Category 2: a local, university-based program
Addiction Medicine (Category 2)Category 2 · Mental health, addiction and HIV
Length4 blocks (16 weeks), consecutive and full-time
Positions1 position for the 2026-27 academic year
ApplicationsClosed 30 Mar 2026
Differs from the above
Applications, 2027–28:Applications for 2026-27 closed March 30, 2026, with positions offered by April 21, 2026. The date for the next intake is not posted.
Who can apply:Applicants must have completed the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) exam or hold CCFP certification before the program starts, and must provide a document supporting Canadian citizenship.
International medical graduates:Not accepted for 2026-27, because the short timeline meant international applicants' documents could not be processed. 2027-28 is still to be confirmed.
Funding:Paid at Resident Pay Level 3 under the Professional Association of Residents of Alberta (PARA) collective agreement
How to apply:Send all materials in a single message to the Enhanced Skills office: application form, 750-word letter of intent, CV, citizenship document, 3 references, and proof of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) exam. Applications do not go through CaRMS.
Start dates:July or August 2026 (2026-27 academic year); the next intake is not posted
Accreditation:Category 2: a local University of Alberta program that does not lead to a Certificate of Added Competence (CAC) from the College of Family Physicians of Canada
Alberta also runs 8 programs in CaRMS’s FM/ES match, in 7 areas: Addiction Medicine, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Enhanced Surgical Skills, Family Practice Anesthesia, Palliative Care, Sport and Exercise Medicine. You apply to those through CaRMS, on CaRMS’s dates. See Alberta’s CaRMS FM/ES programs
From Alberta’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Schools change dates, positions and funding through the year; confirm on Alberta’s page before you apply.