Red Deer - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of AlbertaRed Deer, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 2 Nov 2026
Red Deer, 9 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Based in a regional centre where the FM-EM resident is the most senior learner on core rotations.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Ultrasound training covers EDE 1 material, making residents CPoCUS IP eligible by year end.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Accommodation provided in Red Deer; residents arrange their own housing for mandatory Edmonton rotations.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This 1-year family medicine–emergency medicine stream is based at Red Deer Regional Hospital, with higher-acuity rotations in Edmonton.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project and need access to a vehicle for travel between rotations.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is required
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (12 weeks · Red Deer Regional Hospital)
- Emergency Medicine (6 Weeks · UAH ER (4 Weeks) GNH ER (2 Weeks))
- Emergency Medicine (4 Weeks · Lethbridge Regional Hospital)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Stollery Children’s Hospital (UAH))
- Orthopedic Surgery/General Surgery/Neuro/Ophtho/Elective of your choice (4 weeks · Lethbridge or Red Deer Regional Hospital or specific elective location)
- Adult ICU (8 weeks · UAH/RAH and RDRH ICU)
- Pediatric ICU (4 weeks · Stollery Children’s Hospital)
- Trauma and Ultrasound (2 weeks · RAH/UAH)
- Anesthesia (2 weeks · Red Deer Regional Hospital)
- EMS Curriculum (Longitudinal · Edmonton ground EMS and STARS (Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society))
- Emergency Medicine Longitudinal (>8 shifts · At Site of faculty advisor + RDRH)
- CCU Senior (2 weeks · Royal Alexandra (RAH))
- Disaster Med Curriculum (Longitudinal · Online and onsite at various locations)
- Vacation (4 Weeks)
Where you train
Red Deer, Alberta: 9 teaching sites. A car is required.
- Red Deer Regional Hospital
- University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Stollery Children’s Hospital (Edmonton)
- Grey Nuns Hospital (Edmonton)
- Misericordia (Edmonton)
- Sturgeon Hospitals
- Lethbridge Regional Hospital (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 9; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Red Deer
People
100,844residents, 2021 Census
Housing
$1,170one-bedroom rent a month, new tenants
Winter and summer
−11.6 °CJanuary mean16.2 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 2 Nov 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Navdeep Dhaliwal
Dr. Hazem ShoblakAssistant Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Red Deer
Did this page answer your question?