Lethbridge - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of CalgaryLethbridge, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 2 Nov 2026
Lethbridge, 4 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents are the most senior residents on emergency, ICU/CCU and anesthesia rotations at a regional hospital.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
A month-long Transition to Practice rotation at year end covering department flow, teaching, billing and finances.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Two ICU rotations: medical/surgical ICU at CRH and neuro/trauma ICU at Foothills.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This 1-year PGY-3 emergency medicine program is a Lethbridge satellite of the Calgary CCFP-EM program, based at Chinook Regional Hospital.
- A weekly full academic day is shared with the Calgary programs, and all residents are expected to reach EDE-1 ultrasound equivalency.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (5.5 Blocks · CRH)
- Emergency Medicine (1 Block · Calgary)
- Transition to Practice (Emergency Medicine) (1 Block · CRH)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (1 Block · ACH)
- ICU/CCU (1 Block · CRH)
- ICU Neuro/Trauma (1 Block · FMH)
- Anesthesia (1 Block · CRH (2 weeks Adult and 2 weeks Peds))
- Toxicology (0.5 Block · Calgary PADIS)
- Elective (1 Block · Resident’s choice)
- Ortho, Plastics, Ophtho (2 Weeks · CRH - Longitudinal)
Where you train
Lethbridge, Alberta: 4 teaching sites.
- Chinook Regional Hospital (CRH)
- Foothills Medical Hospital (FMH) (Calgary)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH) (Calgary)
- Poison and Drug Information Service (PADIS) (Calgary)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 4; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH)
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Lethbridge
People
98,406residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.2%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−6.0 °CJanuary mean18.4 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- IMG requirements
- “International medical graduates who are certified to practice family medicine in Canada”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 2 Nov 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Stephanie BrassSite Director
Dr. Amanda Schreiner
Dr. Ronald Garnett
- Program office
Enhanced Skills Lethbridge Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Lethbridge
Did this page answer your question?