Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Internal Medicine

Queen’s UniversityKingston, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
21 positions+1 from 20 in the 2026 match changed: see what changed on the CaRMS page
6 positions−1 from 7 in the 2026 match changed: see what changed on the CaRMS page
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

4 dates, 21–26 Jan 2027virtual

Kingston, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • All three electives are scheduled before Block 4 of PGY-3, so they come before CaRMS.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents who do not match to a subspecialty can complete a PGY-4 year in the program.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Internal medicine runs its own stepdown ICU for critically ill patients.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's core Internal Medicine is a 3-year program of 13 four-week rotations per year.
  • Training takes place at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, Hotel Dieu Hospital and Providence Care Hospital, with a required community internal medicine rotation at sites such as Belleville or Oshawa.
  • All residents complete a scholarly project, with up to three blocks of protected research time.
  • Senior residents do a night float rotation for acute medicine call.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Clinical Teaching Units/General Medicine5 blocks
  • Cardiology
  • ICU/Airway
  • Palliative Care Medicine
  • Elective
  • Research/Selective
  • Subspecialty rotations
PGY-2
  • Clinical Teaching Units/General Medicine4 blocks
  • ICU2 blocks
  • Elective
  • Research/Selective
  • Subspecialty rotations
PGY-3
  • Clinical Teaching Unit/General Medicine3-4 blocks
  • Cardiac Care Unit/Cardiac Sciences Unit1 block
  • Night float
  • Community Internal Medicine
  • Elective
  • Research/Selective
  • Subspecialty rotations

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital
  • Providence Care Hospital
  • Lakeridge Health Oshawa (Oshawa)
  • Belleville (Belleville)
  • Humber River Regional Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 6, Lumeo at 4, MEDITECH at 1.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston Health Sciences Centre, Hotel Dieu Hospital, Providence Care Hospital, Belleville.

Lakeridge Health Oshawa

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Humber River Regional Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21, 22, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream213 years4 dates, 21–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 20 → 21 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)
IMG stream63 years4 dates, 21–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 7 → 6 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream205 years4 dates, 22–27 Jan 2026
IMG stream75 years4 dates, 22–27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Queen's University offers a highly respected, competency-based internal medicine training program that provides personalized feedback and graduated responsibility.
  • The program focuses on creating a supportive, hands-on learning experience that prepares residents to excel in subspecialty training and meet the diverse healthcare needs of patients and society.
Research
Dedicated to providing residents significant research opportunities with mentorship, protected research time, funding for conference travel, and annual research events.
Training setting
Located in Kingston, Ontario, with training across three affiliated hospitals: Kingston Health Sciences Centre, Hotel Dieu Hospital, and Providence Care Hospital. Provides diverse clinical experiences in tertiary care, ambulatory clinics, and community settings.
Teaching approach
Follows the Royal College Competence by Design framework with a personalized approach, focusing on individualized learning plans, graduated responsibility, and comprehensive skill development across multiple CanMEDS competencies.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical School Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

  • Ottawa - Internal MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 146 km

    32 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - Internal MedicineUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 241 km

    65 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 263 km

    14 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36236 (CMG stream), 35807 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: CMG stream: Quota published: 21 and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • CMG stream: Quota published: 21

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct
    • IMG stream: Quota published: 6

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream