Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - General Surgery

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
13 positions
3 positions−1 from 4 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 6 Feb 2027virtual

Toronto, 21 teaching sites18 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Access to North America's largest transplant program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Surgeon Scientist Training Program with a thesis-based graduate degree of at least two years.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Toronto General Surgery program is a five-year residency divided into 4-week blocks, 13 per year.
  • Training takes place at academic and community hospitals, with community and academic surgery exposure built into the program structure.
  • Residents must complete and present at least one scholarly project, and may apply to the Surgeon Scientist Training Program after PGY-2 or PGY-3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Acute Care Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Colorectal Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Pediatric General Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Trauma Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Thoracic Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Transplant Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Vascular Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Critical Care Medicine (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Endoscopy (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Trauma Team Leader (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Selectives & Electives (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Acute Care Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Ambulatory Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Breast Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Colorectal Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Complex Surgical Oncology (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Community Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Endocrine Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Minimally Invasive & Bariatric Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Trauma Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Electives (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
  • Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · last four blocks of PGY-5)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 21 teaching sites18 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • St Michael's Hospital
  • Women's College Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • St Joseph's Health Care Centre
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Humber River Hospital
Show all 21 sites
  • Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
  • Credit Valley Hospital (Mississauga)
  • Mackenzie Health (Vaughan/Richmond Hill)
  • The Scarborough Hospital
  • Oak Valley Health (Markham Stouffville)
  • Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
  • Barrie (Barrie · rural or distributed site)
  • Owen Sound (Owen Sound · rural or distributed site)
  • Collingwood (Collingwood · rural or distributed site)
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • St Michael's Hospital
  • Women's College Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • St Joseph's Health Care Centre
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Humber River Hospital
Show all 18 sites
  • Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga) (Mississauga)
  • Barrie, Owen Sound, Collingwood (rural or distributed site)
  • Mackenzie Health (Richmond Hill) (Richmond Hill)
  • The Scarborough Hospital
  • William Osler Health Centre (Brampton) (Brampton)
  • Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 12 of 25, MEDITECH at 4, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3; no published record for 6.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

17 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Toronto General Hospital, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Toronto Western Hospital.
Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At St Michael's Hospital, St Joseph's Health Care Centre.
Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Trillium Health Partners, Credit Valley Hospital.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Barrie, Collingwood.

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

The Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 5 more sites

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Humber River Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Oak Valley Health

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record As of 31 Oct 2026

Peterborough Regional Health Centre

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Owen Sound

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
6 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

18 General Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream135 years1 date, 6 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream35 years1 date, 6 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 4 → 3 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream135 years1 date, 17 Jan 2026
IMG stream45 years1 date, 17 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto General Surgery Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience at multiple academic and community sites.
  • The program is designed to develop highly skilled, confident surgeons through a competency-based curriculum that emphasizes clinical excellence, ethical practice, and team-based learning.
Research
Mandatory research experience with expectation of completing and presenting at least one scholarly project. Elective blocks can be used for research.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple academic and community hospitals in Toronto, providing diverse clinical exposure in urban and community settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on progressive skill development, with residents advancing through Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
  • Leadership skills
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Research/publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Savtaj Brar

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officegensurg.residency@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 22 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - General SurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 59 km

    6 positions · CMG

  • Niagara - General SurgeryMcMaster University

    Niagara · 67 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35691 (CMG stream), 35502 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream