Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Kingston, 5 teaching sites

Also at Queen’s, applied for at the school: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, on Queen’s’s page of programs applied for at the school · practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to Queen’s, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Program is embedded within Queen's Division of Geriatric Medicine, with preceptors from family and internal medicine.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal clinic with a family physician holding a Certificate of Added Competence in Care of the Elderly.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's Care of the Elderly is a 12-month enhanced skills program following family medicine residency, based in Kingston, Ontario.
  • Most rotations take place at Providence Care Hospital, with time also at other local hospitals such as Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
  • The curriculum combines 6 core blocks, 5 longitudinal blocks and 2 elective blocks, including geriatric rehabilitation, geriatric psychiatry and geriatric medicine consultation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • In-Patient Seniors Rehabilitation Unit (Core Block Rotations (6 blocks) · Blocks 1 & 11 · PCH)
  • Outpatient Senior’s Day Rehabilitation (outpatient interdisciplinary geriatric rehabilitation) (Core Block Rotations (6 blocks) · Blocks 12 & 13 · PCH)
  • Geriatric Psychiatry (community-based interdisciplinary outreach team and clinics) (Core Block Rotations (6 blocks) · Blocks 7 & 8)
  • Outpatient Geriatric Medicine and Care of the Elderly Clinics, including longitudinal clinic with a family physician with a Certificate of Added Competence in COE (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks) · PCH)
  • Inpatient Geriatric Medicine Consultation Service (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks) · 4 weeks or equivalent longitudinal experiences · KGH, HDH, PCH, PTCC)
  • Home visits (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks) · community)
  • Subspecialty clinics with relevance to Care of the Elderly (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks))
  • Community Family Medicine (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks))
  • Long-term Care (LTC) - recommended but not mandatory (Core Longitudinal Rotations (5 blocks))
  • Elective Rotations (Elective Rotations (2 blocks) · 8-12 weeks)
  • research elective (1 to 2-week)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • Providence Care Hospital (PCH)
  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre
  • KGH
  • HDH
  • PTCC

Record systems at the listed sites: Lumeo at 1 of 5; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Kingston Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

DFM CaRMS Team, Program Coordinator

Write to the officedfm-carms@queensu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 22 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34676 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?