Skip to content
CdnMD

Queen's University

Enhanced skills you apply for at Queen’s, not through CaRMS · 5 offerings · Ontario

Queen’s’s enhanced skills page (opens the school’s site in a new tab)

What applies to every offering

Applications, 2027–28
Category 2 applications for 2027-28 are due September 30, 2026 at 12:00 noon Eastern Time. Applications opened July 28, 2026.
Who can apply
Currently enrolled second-year (PGY-2) residents in a Canadian family medicine residency, or physicians practising in Canada who meet Ontario Ministry of Health funding eligibility (re-entry)
International medical graduates
Not stated on the school’s page.
Funding
The Queen's Enhanced Skills programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ontario Ministry of Health). How they are split between programs is not stated.
How to apply
Category 2: complete the online Category 2 Enhanced Skills application form, with a letter of intent (1 to 2 pages), CV and 3 reference letters (one from the program or site director)
Start dates
2027-28 cycle: Category 2 offer letters go out December 10, 2026. The start date is not stated on the page.
Accreditation
Category 2

These apply to every offering below unless its row says otherwise.

Offerings 5

Enhanced skills offerings you apply for at Queen's University
Rural SkillsCategory 2 · Rural skills and self-designedLengthMinimum 3 blocks, maximum 6 blocksPositionsDepends on how many positions are available; the number is not statedApplicationsClosed 30 Sep 2026Differs from the aboveSame as above
Women's HealthCategory 2 · Women’s, sexual and reproductive healthLengthNot statedPositionsNot statedApplicationsClosed 30 Sep 2026Differs from the aboveSame as above
Indigenous HealthCategory 2 · Global, Indigenous and underserved populationsLengthNot statedPositionsNot statedApplicationsClosed 30 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • How to apply: Category 2 online application, reviewed by the Enhanced Skills Post-Graduate Program Committee, as for the other programs
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD)Category 2 · Other focused skillsLength6 to 12 months (flexible)PositionsNot statedApplicationsClosed 30 Sep 2026Differs from the aboveSame as above
Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry routePractising physicians · Care of the elderly and palliative careLengthNot statedPositionsCare of the Elderly: one resident per academic year, occasionally moreApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above

Through CaRMS at Queen’s

Queen’s also runs 4 programs in CaRMS’s FM/ES match, in 4 areas: Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Family Practice Anesthesia, Palliative Care. You apply to those through CaRMS, on CaRMS’s dates. See Queen’s’s CaRMS FM/ES programs

From Queen’s’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Schools change dates, positions and funding through the year; confirm on Queen’s’s page before you apply.