Skip to content
CdnMD

Sault Ste. Marie - Public Health and Preventive Medicine

NOSM UniversitySault Ste. Marie, OntarioIMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · this stream

Interviews

1 date, 19 Jan 2027virtual

Sault Ste. Marie, 2 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Final-year Leadership and Management rotation acting as an associate medical officer of health.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Affiliation with the University of Global Health Equity in Butaro, Rwanda.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program is based in Sault Ste. Marie, with clinical training at Sault Area Hospital and field placements at Algoma Public Health.
  • Training includes at least one year of clinical training tailored to public health, at least two semesters of graduate studies, and a scholarly project.
  • Residents train at sites across Northern Ontario and must relocate during training, with travel and housing support for core rotations away from home.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Public health agency
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Public Health (Transition to PHPM)
  • Family Medicine (Transition to PHPM)
  • Communicable Disease Control (Core PHPM training)
  • Environmental Health (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Policy and Planning (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Promotion, Chronic Disease Prevention, and Injury Prevention (Core PHPM training)
  • Leadership and Management (Transition to independent PHPM practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario: 2 teaching sites; optional rural rotation. A car is recommended.

  • Sault Area Hospital
  • Algoma Public Health

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Sault Area Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Sault Ste. Marie

  • People

    72,051residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sault Ste. Marie

  • Housing

    2.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sault Ste

  • Winter and summer

    −9.8 °CJanuary mean17.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sault Ste. Marie (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · this stream
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

All info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
IMG stream15 years1 date, 19 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
IMG stream15 years1 date, 21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the IMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • NOSM University's Public Health and Preventive Medicine (PHPM) program offers comprehensive training across Northern Ontario, preparing physicians to practice in diverse contexts with a strong emphasis on health equity and social accountability.
  • The five-year program provides residents with extensive clinical, academic, and scholarly experiences across multiple training sites, focusing on northern, rural, and remote health settings.
Research
Residents complete a minimum of 2 graduate study semesters, typically pursuing a Master of Public Health, with opportunities for scholarly projects and research electives.
Training setting
Training occurs across Northern Ontario sites including Sudbury and Sault Ste. Marie, with rotations at local hospitals, public health units, and potential national and international placements.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education following Royal College Specialty Training Requirements, with a focus on social accountability, hands-on learning, and progressive independence through four sequential training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experiences
  • Examination scores
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/publications
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Emily Groot

  • Dr. Reed MorrisonAssociate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

“Applications will only be considered through submission on CaRMS.ca. Please do not apply via email to the Program Coordinator.” · the program’s note on CaRMS

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Public Health and Preventive Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Sault Ste. Marie

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 7 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36523 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Language proficiency: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Language proficiency: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?