Skip to content
CdnMD

Sudbury - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

NOSM UniversitySudbury, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Sudbury, 8 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Mandatory rural Northern Ontario palliative care rotation, with residents choosing among Mindemoya, Marathon, Huntsville, North Bay or Sault Ste. Marie.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents take part in virtual palliative care delivery through the Ontario TeleHealth Network and phone consultation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Housing is provided for mandatory rotations away from the home base.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University offers a 12-month enhanced skills residency in palliative care, with residents based at Health Sciences North in Sudbury or in Thunder Bay.
  • The year starts and ends with the home palliative care team, and residents also rotate in a rural Northern Ontario community, at the other tertiary site and at a tertiary unit in Ottawa.
  • Residents complete a scholarly project, which they present in a year-end Grand Rounds.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • family_practice_continuity
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Junior Palliative Medicine Consultation (8 · Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, O N ) or Health Sciences North (Sudbury, O N ))
  • Hospice/Palliative Care Unit (4 · Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, O N ) or Health Sciences North (Sudbury, O N ))
  • Rural Community Palliative Care (8 · Mindemoya, Marathon, Huntsville, North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie)
  • Tertiary Palliative Care Unit (4 · University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON)
  • Palliative Medicine Consultation (4 · Health Sciences North (Sudbury, O N ) or Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, O N ))
  • Medical Oncology (2 · Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, ON) or Health Sciences North (Sudbury, ON))
  • Radiation Oncology (2 · Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, ON) or Health Sciences North (Sudbury, ON))
  • Electives (12 · Resident choice)
  • Senior Palliative Medicine Consultation (8 · Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay, ON) or Health Sciences North (Sudbury, ON))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sudbury, Ontario: 8 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks.

  • Health Sciences North
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay)
  • University of Ottawa (Ottawa)
  • Mindemoya (Mindemoya · rural or distributed site)
  • Marathon (Marathon · rural or distributed site)
  • Huntsville (Huntsville · rural or distributed site)
  • North Bay (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Ste. Marie (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 4 of 8, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 3.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie.

Health Sciences North

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Huntsville

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Greater Sudbury

  • People

    166,004residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Greater Sudbury / Grand Sudbury

  • Housing

    1.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Greater Sudbury, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.7 °CJanuary mean19.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sudbury, 19.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Greater Sudbury (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Megan Sellick

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere

Nearest to Sudbury

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 15 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37022 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?