Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Toronto, 21 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required one-block PEACH rotation providing palliative care for homeless patients with Inner City Health Associates.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Four-month longitudinal half-day ambulatory palliative clinic where residents follow their own consults over time.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Required pediatric palliative care rotation at The Hospital for Sick Children.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year palliative care enhanced skills program at the University of Toronto prepares physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care services.
  • It includes 10.5 mandatory blocks across Toronto hospitals, including home palliative care, pediatric palliative care and a rotation caring for homeless patients.
  • Residents also attend a four-month longitudinal half-day ambulatory clinic and must complete a research, education or quality improvement scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Underserved urban
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Inpatient Consultation Services (2 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, St Michael's Hospital)
  • Home Palliative Care (2 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital (Temmy Latner Centre for Palliative Care (TLCPC))
  • Inpatient Palliative Care Unit (2 blocks · Princess Margaret Hospital, Bridgepoint, Baycrest, Toronto Grace, Kensington Hospice, Sunnybrook)
  • Medical + Radiation Oncology (1 block · Princess Margaret Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
  • Psychosocial Oncology (1 block · University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital), Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
  • Community Hospital Service (1 Block · Southlake Regional Hospital, Trillium Health Partners-Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital, Toronto East General Hospital, North York General Hospital, St Joseph's Hospital, William Osler Health Sciences)
  • PEACH (Palliative Education and Care for the Homeless) (1 Block · Inner City Health Associates (ICHA))
  • Pediatric Palliative Care (0.5 Block · The Hospital for Sick Children)
  • Non-malignant Palliative Care (0.5 Block · Toronto General Hospital or Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
  • Elective (2-2.5 blocks · Negotiated individually, with approval of PD)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 21 teaching sites.

  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • St Michael's Hospital
  • Temmy Latner Centre for Palliative Care (TLCPC)
  • Princess Margaret Hospital
  • Bridgepoint
  • Baycrest
  • Toronto Grace
  • Kensington Hospice
  • University Health Network
Show all 21 sites
  • Southlake Regional Hospital
  • Trillium Health Partners-Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital
  • Toronto East General Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • St Joseph's Hospital
  • William Osler Health Sciences
  • Inner City Health Associates (ICHA)
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • Odette Cancer Centre

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 21, MEDITECH at 1, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 11.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

10 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital, Princess Margaret Hospital, University Health Network.

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

St Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 3 more sites

Southlake Regional Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record As of 31 Oct 2026

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sarah Kawaguchi

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officefammed.enhanced@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 14 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34655 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?