Skip to content
CdnMD

North Bay - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

NOSM UniversityNorth Bay, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

North Bay, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • An individualized educational plan is developed with the program director before the program starts.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Movement disorders and geriatric rehabilitation rotations at external host sites in Toronto and Ottawa.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Graduates join a regional Care of the Elderly Community of Practice that supports them throughout their careers.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Training takes place in Sudbury, Thunder Bay and North Bay and in rural communities, with some rotations in Toronto and Ottawa.
  • Travel to and housing for core rotations away from the home base are supported.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • In-patient Geriatric Assessment (8 · Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay)
  • Geriatric Psychiatry (8 · Thunder Bay, North Bay)
  • Community Geriatrics (8 · Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay)
  • Long-term Care (4 · Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay, Timmins)
  • Movement Disorders (4 · Toronto)
  • Complex Dementia or Behavioural Neurology (4 · North Bay, Toronto)
  • Geriatric Rehabilitation (4 · Sudbury, Ottawa)
  • Research (4 · Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay)
  • Palliative Care (4 · Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay, Huntsville)
  • Elective (4 · Northern Ontario or external)
  • Horizontal Electives

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

North Bay, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page; optional rural rotation.

Distributed across a region

About North Bay

  • People

    52,662residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of North Bay

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, North Bay, Ontario (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, North Bay, 8.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about North Bay (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Rhea Galbraith

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to North Bay

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 13 Aug 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37042 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?