Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Pediatrics

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

4 dates, 1–4 Feb 2027virtual

St. John's, 4 teaching sites · 12 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • No subspecialty residents, giving pediatric residents early transition to independence.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Junior attending blocks in PGY-4, both at the Janeway site and in the community.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • Faculty-to-resident ratio of approximately 1:1.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial University's four-year pediatrics residency is based mainly at the Janeway Children's Hospital and Rehabilitation Centre in St. John's.
  • Residents complete a mandatory rural community rotation in each of the three core years, with accommodation provided and transportation reimbursed.
  • All residents must complete a scholarly research project, with a month of protected time split across second and third years.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU)8 weeks
  • Ambulatory Pediatrics8 weeks
  • Subspecialty Selective8 weeks
  • Newborn Medicine4 weeks
  • NICU4 weeks
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Child Development4 weeks
  • Adolescent Medicine4 weeks
  • Community4 weeks
  • Enrichment Block4 weeks
PGY-2
  • PICU8 weeks
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU)8 weeks
  • Electiveout-of-town/province8 weeks
  • NICU4 weeks
  • Subspecialty Selective4 weeks
  • Pediatric Surgery4 weeks
  • Psychiatry4 weeks
  • Enrichment Block4 weeks
  • Community Pediatrics4 weeks
  • Anesthesia2 weeks
  • Research2 weeks
PGY-3
  • Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU)8 weeks
  • Subspecialty Selective8 weeks
  • NICU4 weeks
  • PICU4 weeks
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Elective4 weeks
  • Ambulatory Pediatrics4 weeks
  • Child Development4 weeks
  • Community Pediatrics4 weeks
  • Enrichment Block4 weeks
  • Medical Education2 weeks
  • Newborn Pediatrics2 weeks
PGY-4
  • Selective16 weeks (4 blocks)
  • Elective12 weeks (3 blocks)
  • Janeway Site Junior AttendingJaneway8 weeks
  • Acute Care (PICU, NICU or ER)4 weeks
  • Learning and Behaviour4 weeks
  • Community Junior Attending4 weeks
  • Enrichment Block4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 4 teaching sites; 12 rural weeks.

  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre
  • Health Sciences Centre
  • Western Memorial Regional Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Central Newfoundland Regional Hospital (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, Western Memorial Regional Hospital, Central Newfoundland Regional Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1, 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

8 Pediatrics info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year
PGY-4
$85,137 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: St. John's.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20225 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream64 years4 dates, 1–4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years4 dates, 19–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Pediatrics Residency Program offers comprehensive training in a supportive, collegial academic environment.
  • Located in St. John's, Newfoundland, the program provides excellent pediatric education with unique advantages like early transition to independence and direct patient care experiences.
  • Residents benefit from a moderate program size, community rotations, and a strong faculty-to-resident ratio.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly research project. Protected research time is provided, and opportunities exist for additional research training through the Canadian Child Health Clinician Scientist Program or concurrent Master's degree.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at the Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre in St. John's, with additional sites including Health Sciences Centre, Western Memorial Regional Hospital, and Central Newfoundland Regional Hospital. Rural rotations are also available in Newfoundland, Labrador, New Brunswick, and PEI.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on the seven CanMEDS roles, with an emphasis on progressive independence, interdisciplinary teamwork, and lifelong learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Academic Program Administrator, Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officepedsresidency@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience section, describes callFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

  • Halifax - PediatricsDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 897 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Montreal - PediatricsMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 1,607 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - PediatricsUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 1,769 km

    13 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35313 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?