Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required

Interviews

2 dates, 26–27 Nov 2026virtual

St. John's, 6 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • No local RCPSC emergency medicine program, so residents take senior ED roles without competition for procedures.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Community anesthesia rotation in Grand Falls-Windsor where residents often log 50 to 100 intubations.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Advanced PoCUS workshops taught by fellowship-trained faculty, plus monthly longitudinal scanning sessions.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year emergency medicine enhanced skills program trains residents mainly in the emergency departments of the Health Sciences Centre and St. Clare's Mercy Hospital in St. John's.
  • Training includes a longitudinal point-of-care ultrasound curriculum and a required self-directed scholarly activity presented at year end.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Early independence
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Adult Emergency Medicine (20 weeks · Health Sciences Centre/St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (rural site) (4 weeks · Grand Falls-Windsor, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, or Burin)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Janeway Children's Hospital)
  • Critical Care (8 weeks · Health Sciences Centre)
  • Coronary Care (4 weeks · Health Sciences Centre)
  • Anesthesia (4 weeks · Grand Falls-Windsor)
  • Plastic Surgery (4 weeks · Health Sciences Centre)
  • Elective (4 weeks · To be determined by resident)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 6 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Clare's Mercy Hospital
  • Janeway Children's Hospital
  • Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre (Grand Falls-Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Labrador Health Centre (Happy Valley-Goose Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Burin Peninsula Health Center (Burin · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre, Labrador Health Centre.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
26 and 27 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$79,848 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Academic Program Administrator

Write to the officeenhancedskills@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 14 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34654 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?