Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 29–30 Oct 2026virtual

Halifax, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required 4-week trauma rotation at Sunnybrook or St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal toxicology training through the IWK Health Centre Poison Control Centre.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Simulation includes high-fidelity cadaver-based sessions and an abbreviated AIME airway course.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program is a 1-year residency leading to a recommendation for the CFPC(EM) certificate.
  • Training is centred at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and IWK Health Centre in Halifax, with rotations at Saint John Regional Hospital and Dartmouth General Hospital.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Small program
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Anesthesia (4 weeks · Saint John Regional Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (12 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
  • Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Community Hospital - Dartmouth General Hospital)
  • Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Selective EM choice that is a CFPC accredited training site)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · IWK Health Centre)
  • ICU (8 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
  • CCU (4 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
  • Combined Orthopedic/Plastic Surgery (4 weeks · Saint John Regional Hospital)
  • Elective (4 weeks · To be determined)
  • Trauma Rotation (4 weeks · Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre or St. Michael's Hospital)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 8 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Department
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
  • Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network (Saint John)
  • Moncton Hospital, Horizon Health Network (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
  • Valley Regional Hospital (Kentville · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 8; no published record for 5.

Moving to a new system: Valley Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.
  • Inpatient beds. As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Department

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Dartmouth General Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional
Show facts for 3 more sites

Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445

Moncton Hospital, Horizon Health Network

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381

Valley Regional Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Valley Regional Hospital (Kentville) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
29 and 30 Oct 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

ESEM Residency Education Manager

Write to the officeESEMProgram@nshealth.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 11 Aug 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34585 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?