Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Diagnostic Radiology

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions+2 from 4 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · CMGs only

Interviews

2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027virtual

St. John's, 5 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • No radiology fellows, so residents directly perform or closely assist on all procedural cases.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • All PGY1 residents get access to the RSNA Imaging AI Foundational Certificate Course.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Uses Diagnostic SIMaging simulation labs covering procedures, interpretation, communication and rare emergencies.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial University's five-year diagnostic radiology residency trains residents at hospitals in St. John's.
  • Required rotations include a four-week rural radiology rotation, most often in Corner Brook, and a four-week AIRP course.
  • Each resident must complete one research project, and the program has no radiology fellows.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Small program
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English
Getting around
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Adult Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · One Block)
  • General Surgery (Transition to Discipline · One Block)
  • Internal Medicine: Inpatient Ward (Transition to Discipline · One Block)
  • Pediatrics Ward and/or Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · One Block)
  • Radiology (Transition to Discipline · One Block)
  • Critical Care Medicine (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Medical Oncology (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Radiation Oncology (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Neurology (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Neurosurgery (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Pathology (Transition to Discipline · One Block maximum)
  • Other surgical specialty (Transition to Discipline · Two Block maximum)
  • Other medical subspecialty (Transition to Discipline · Two Block maximum)
  • Diagnostic Techniques (Foundations · One Block)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations · One Block minimum)
  • Body (Abdom/Pelvis) CT (Foundations · One Block minimum)
  • Chest (Foundations · One Block)
  • MSK (Foundations · One Block)
  • Neuro CT (Foundations · One Block minimum)
  • Ultrasound (Foundations · One Block minimum)
  • BODY: Abdomen and pelvis (Core 1 · 3 Blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Core 1 · 1 Block)
  • Breast Imaging (Core 1 · 2 Blocks)
  • Cardiothoracic (Core 1 · 3 Blocks)
  • MSK (Core 1 · 2 Blocks)
  • Neuro (Core 1 · 3 Blocks)
  • Nuclear Medicine (Core 1 · 1 Block)
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology Ultrasound (Core 1 · 1 Block)
  • Pediatrics (Core 1 · 2 Blocks)
  • Ultrasound (Core 1 · 2 Blocks)
  • Interventional Radiology (Core 1 · 2 Blocks)
  • Elective 1 (Core 1 · 1 Block Optional*)
  • BODY: Abdomen and pelvis (Core 2 · 3 Blocks)
  • Breast Imaging (Core 2 · 2 Blocks)
  • Cardiothoracic (Core 2 · 2 Blocks)
  • Community (Core 2 · 1 Block)
  • MSK (Core 2 · 3 Blocks)
  • Neurology (Core 2 · 3 Blocks)
  • Nuclear Medicine (Core 2 · 1 Block)
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology Ultrasound (Core 2 · 1 Block)
  • Pediatrics (Core 2 · 2 Blocks)
  • Interventional Radiology (Core 2 · 1 Blocks)
  • AIRP (Core 2 · 1 Block)
  • Elective 1 (Core 2 · 1 Block Optional*)
  • Elective 2 (Core 2 · 1 Block)
  • Junior Staff* (Transition to Practice · 6)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 5 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Clare's Mercy Hospital
  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre
  • Ambulatory Health Hub
  • Western Memorial Regional Hospital (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 3 of 5; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Western Memorial Regional Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1 and 2 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year
PGY-4
$85,137 / year
PGY-5
$90,868 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream65 years2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 4 → 6 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Diagnostic Radiology residency offers a comprehensive 5-year training program in St. John's, Newfoundland.
  • The program provides extensive hands-on experience across various radiology subspecialties, with a small program size ensuring close supervision and abundant clinical exposure.
Research
Residents must complete at least one research project, with support from a dedicated research director and research assistant. Projects aim for publication and conference presentation.
Training setting
Training occurs across three hospitals in St. John's: Health Sciences Centre, St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, and Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competence-based medical education focusing on progressive skill development, with progression based on demonstrated competencies rather than time-based milestones.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Reference letters
  • Casper test
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Academic Program Administrator

Write to the officeradresapa@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

  • Halifax - Diagnostic RadiologyDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 897 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 1,607 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - Diagnostic RadiologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 1,769 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36415 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?