Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Diagnostic Radiology

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions+3 from 5 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 27–28 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Four-week radiologic pathology course at the AIRP in Silver Spring, Maryland, highly encouraged as an elective.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Visiting Professors' Program brings three to four radiologists yearly; residents excused from clinical duties for sessions.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's Diagnostic Radiology residency is a 5-year program beginning with a basic clinical PGY-1 year followed by four years of radiology.
  • Core rotations take place at the JGH, MGH or RVH adult hospitals, with four periods of pediatrics at the MCH.
  • Residents must complete one research project by the end of PGY-4 and present it at the annual Research Day.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-1
  • Radiology as introductory monthsBlocks 10-13
  • general surgery
  • orthopedics
  • urology
  • internal medicine
  • emergency
  • pediatric surgery
  • neurology
  • respirology
PGY-4
  • pediatricsMCH3 periods

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • chest (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • GI (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • bone (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • GU (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • CT (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • US (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • angiography (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)
  • neuroradiology (PGY-2 to 5 · JGH, MGH or RVH)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 7 teaching sites.

  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Montreal Neurological Institute
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • Lachine General Hospital (Lachine)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurological Institute, Lachine General Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Show facts for 4 more sites

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Montreal Neurological Institute

Matched to Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 90

St. Mary's Hospital

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Lachine General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream85 years2 dates, 27–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 5 → 8 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 5 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream55 years2 dates, 27–28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill University's Diagnostic Radiology Residency Program is one of the oldest in North America, offering a comprehensive and flexible curriculum focused on excellence in patient care, educational activities, and resident research.
  • The program provides robust teaching, hands-on learning experiences across multiple institutions, and a commitment to preparing residents for both academic and community practice.
Research
Residents are required to complete one research project by the end of PGY-4, with mandatory presentation at the annual Research Day.
Training setting
Urban medical centers in Montreal, training across multiple hospitals including McGill University Health Centers, Jewish General Hospital, St. Mary's Hospital, and Montreal Children's Hospital.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education aligned with CanMEDS roles, emphasizing progressive independence, critical thinking, and comprehensive clinical skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic background
  • Elective evaluations
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/publications
  • Leadership skills
  • Casper Test
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Karl Muchantef

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Senior Admin & Student Affairs Coordinator, Administrative & Student Affairs Coordinator

Write to the officeradiologyresidency.med@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 2 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35863 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 5 Oct: Examinations: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 5 Octchanged between 1 and 5 Oct

    • Examinations: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 5 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?