Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Diagnostic Radiology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2027virtual

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 3 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated access to a ScanTrainer ultrasound simulator built into scanning rotations.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Option of a part-time research Master's completed concurrently with residency without extending training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Hosts the Prep for Call Course to prepare PGY2 residents for call.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency organized in four Competence by Design stages.
  • Training takes place at The Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute.
  • A research project is mandatory by the end of PGY4, with a 4-week research block in PGY2 or PGY3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Pediatrics ER1-block
  • General Surgery1-block
  • General Medicine CTU1-block
  • Adult ER1-block
  • Intensive Care1-block
  • Radiation Oncology1-block
  • selective in surgery (Orthopedics, Neurosurgery, Vascular Surgery)1-block
  • medicine selective (Respirology or Neurology)1-block
  • diagnostic radiology rotation
PGY-2
  • research block4-week
PGY-5
  • primarily electives5 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Body CT (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2) · 2)
  • Acute ER (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Chest (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • MSK (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Neuro (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Ultrasound scanning (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
PGY-1
  • Pediatrics ER1-block
  • General Surgery1-block
  • General Medicine CTU1-block
  • Adult ER1-block
  • Intensive Care1-block
  • Radiation Oncology1-block
  • selective in surgery (Orthopedics, Neurosurgery, Vascular Surgery)1-block
  • medicine selective (Respirology or Neurology)1-block
  • diagnostic radiology rotation
PGY-5
  • electives5 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Body CT (2) (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Acute ER (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Chest (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • MSK (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Neuro (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))
  • Ultrasound scanning (CBD Stage 2: Foundation of Discipline (PGY1, PGY2))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Ottawa Hospital (General, Civic and Riverside Campuses)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

The Ottawa Hospital (General, Civic and Riverside Campuses)

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21 and 22 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa's Diagnostic Radiology program offers comprehensive training across multiple clinical sites in Ottawa, emphasizing academic excellence, clinical skills, and professional development.
  • Residents receive exposure to state-of-the-art equipment, diverse clinical experiences, and a robust simulation curriculum that prepares them for independent practice.
Research
Mandatory research project by PGY4, with protected research time, financial support for conference presentations, and opportunities to publish in major journals.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban academic hospitals in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital (General, Civic, and Riverside Campuses), Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency by Design (CBD) curriculum with a focus on progressive learning, emphasizing hands-on experience, interdisciplinary collaboration, and individualized skill development across four training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Casper Test

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Mary Beth Bissell

  • Dr. Fatma EldehimiAssociate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Kingston · 146 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - Diagnostic RadiologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    10 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35537 (CMG stream), 35466 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream