Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Family Medicine

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
87 positions+5 from 82 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

4 dates, 26 Jan – 3 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 19 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is recommended

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Post-match internal mini-match lets residents rank and be assigned among eight Montreal teaching sites.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Bilingual English/French patient care in Montreal, with French language courses provided to residents.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Required 8-week combined Procedural Skills / Family Medicine rotation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's two-year Montreal family medicine program assigns residents through an internal mini-match to one of eight Montreal teaching sites.
  • An 8-week rural rotation is mandatory in PGY2, with optional rural experience of up to six additional months.
  • Instruction at the Montreal units is in English, but residents must be able to assess patients in French.
  • Every resident must complete a critical appraisal/quality assurance project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • rural rotation (two-month)
  • Emergency (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric Ward (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric Ambulatory Care (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric ER (4 weeks)
  • Hospital (Ward) Medicine (4 weeks)
  • Obstetrics (4- 6 weeks site-dependent)
  • Care of the Elderly (4 weeks)
  • Palliative Care (4 weeks)
  • Mental Health / Family Medicine (12 weeks)
  • Emergency / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Hospital (Ward) / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Parent-Child (including Newborn Medicine) / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Procedural Skills / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • elective rotations (4 weeks each)
  • selective rotations (4 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 19 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • CLSC Côte-des-Neiges
  • CLSC Metro
  • CLSC Parc- Extension
  • Herzl Family Practice Centre
  • St Mary's Family Medicine Centre
  • The Queen Elizabeth Health Centre
  • GMF-U Mednam Lachine (Lachine)
  • GMF-U Lakeshore (Pointe Claire)
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • McGill University Health Centre
  • Montreal General Hospital
Show all 19 sites
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Lachine (Lachine)
  • Lasalle Hospitals (Lasalle)
  • Shawville (Shawville · rural or distributed site)
  • Wakefield (Wakefield · rural or distributed site)
  • Maniwaki (Maniwaki · rural or distributed site)
  • Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 19; no published record for 15.

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Montreal Children's Hospital, McGill University Health Centre, Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

McGill University Health Centre

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
Licensed beds
physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 3 more sites

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Lasalle Hospitals

Matched to Hôpital de Lasalle (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415
Licensed beds
physical health 110

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 and 28 Jan 2027; 1 and 3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montreal.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20234 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream872 years4 dates, 26 Jan – 3 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 82 → 87 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream822 years4 dates, 27 Jan – 4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

McGill University offers a fully accredited two-year Family Medicine residency program based in university family medicine group practices (GMF-U). The program provides comprehensive training across multiple clinical settings, emphasizing longitudinal patient care, coordinated specialty training, and rural medicine experiences.

Research
Active research division with multiple opportunities, including a required critical appraisal/quality assurance project and support for research initiatives.
Training setting
Urban and rural medical settings across Montreal and Quebec, including multiple teaching units with diverse patient populations in multicultural, bilingual environments.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on lifelong learning, emphasizing progressive independence and comprehensive patient-centered care across diverse clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC score
  • Medical school transcript
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Language skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Fanny Hersson-Edery

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Administrator, Postgraduate Program Manager

Write to the officepostgrad.fammed@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Notre-Dame - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    Notre-Dame · 0 km

    12 positions · Regular

    French
  • des Faubourgs - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    des Faubourgs · 0 km

    9 positions · Regular

    French
  • 4B - Family MedicineUniversité Laval

    4B · 0 km

    16 positions · Regular

    French

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36508 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?