Skip to content
CdnMD

4B - Family Medicine

Université Laval4B, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
16 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • In second year, residents can spend weeks in the IUCPQ intensive care unit, an activity offered only at GMF-U 4B.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year family medicine residency based at GMF-U 4B in Québec, a clinic located 1 km from its base hospital, the IUCPQ.
  • It uses a block curriculum: family medicine at the GMF-U alternates with specialty rotations, mainly at CHUL and IUCPQ.
  • Residents complete a regional rotation in second year, lasting 2 months, at sites in the Université Laval network.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

PGY-1
  • Médecine familialeau GMF-U, incluant les activités spécialisées sélectionnées (ASS)2 x 3 mois
  • Pédiatrieen milieu hospitalier1 mois
  • Périnatalitéen milieu hospitalier1 mois
  • Urgenceen milieu hospitalier1 mois
  • Médecine interneen milieu hospitalier1 mois
  • Stage clinique de nuiten milieu hospitalier1 mois
  • Gériatrieen milieu hospitalier (peut être fait en R2 afin de permettre un stage à option R1)1 mois
PGY-2
  • Médecine familialeau GMF-U, incluant les activités spécialisées sélectionnées (ASS)2 x 3 mois
  • Stage à option3 x 1 mois
  • Stage en régiondans le réseau de l'Université Laval, dans un seul milieu ou dans deux milieux différents2 mois ou 2 x 1 mois
  • Psychiatrieen milieu hospitalier1 mois

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

4B, Quebec: 22 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • GMF-U 4B (Québec)
  • IUCPQ (Québec)
  • CHUL (Québec)
  • Amqui (Amqui · rural or distributed site)
  • Baie-Comeau (Baie-Comeau · rural or distributed site)
  • Blanc-Sablon (Blanc-Sablon · rural or distributed site)
  • Chandler (Chandler · rural or distributed site)
  • Chibougamau (Chibougamau · rural or distributed site)
  • Gaspé (Gaspé · rural or distributed site)
  • Havre-Saint-Pierre (Havre-Saint-Pierre · rural or distributed site)
  • Îles de la Madeleine (Îles de la Madeleine · rural or distributed site)
  • Lac Etchemins (Lac Etchemins · rural or distributed site)
Show all 22 sites
  • Kuujjuaq (Kuujjuaq · rural or distributed site)
  • Les Escoumins (Les Escoumins · rural or distributed site)
  • Matane (Matane · rural or distributed site)
  • Mont-Joli (Mont-Joli · rural or distributed site)
  • Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
  • Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (Sainte-Anne-des-Monts · rural or distributed site)
  • Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac · rural or distributed site)
  • Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles · rural or distributed site)
  • Sept-Îles (Sept-Îles · rural or distributed site)
  • Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 22; no published record for 21.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

IUCPQ

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

CHUL

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”
  • “Les candidats choisis devront avoir fait une formation postdoctorale ou une pratique clinique significative dans une spécialité antérieure de base”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream162 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream4B - Médecine familiale162 years5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train comprehensive family physicians capable of providing high-quality, continuous healthcare across various settings.
  • The program emphasizes leadership, scholarship, and collaboration, offering diverse training experiences in urban and rural environments with a focus on patient-centered care.
Research
Residents can engage in scholarly projects, quality improvement initiatives, and optional research tracks including a 24-month Clinician Scholar - Research Profile program.
Training setting
Training occurs in urban and rural medical settings in Quebec, including 13 University Family Medicine Groups (GMF-U) with diverse clinical environments ranging from urban hospitals to rural clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education focusing on CanMEDS roles, emphasizing progressive independence, reflective practice, and holistic patient care across different clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Medical school transcripts
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical skills assessment
  • French language proficiency

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to 4B

  • du Marigot - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    du Marigot · 0 km

    8 positions · Regular

    City
  • Notre-Dame - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    Notre-Dame · 0 km

    12 positions · Regular

    City
  • des Faubourgs - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    des Faubourgs · 0 km

    9 positions · Regular

    City

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35534 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?