Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Ophthalmology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

Halifax, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • PGY-5 residents act as junior attending supervising the emergency eye clinic.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Department is associated with a Canadian and American Orthoptic Councils training centre.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie Ophthalmology is a 5-year residency based mainly at the QEII Eye Care Centre and the IWK Health Centre in Halifax.
  • PGY-1 off-service rotations take place in Halifax and Saint John, ending with the six-week Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course.
  • Residents complete a research project with protected time across the four core years and do required rotations outside Halifax within the Maritimes.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-3
  • Basic Science Course4-week

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • ophthalmology block (Transition to Discipline · 1)
  • off-service blocks (Foundations of Discipline · 8)
  • Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course (Foundations of Discipline · 6 weeks · Toronto)
  • Emergency Eye Clinic (Core of Discipline · 3-6 blocks)
  • surgical blocks (Core of Discipline · 4-5)
  • community block (Core of Discipline)
  • elective blocks (Core of Discipline · 2-3)
  • Subspecialty Ophthalmology blocks (Core of Discipline)
  • Emergency Eye Clinic (as junior attending) (Transition to Practice · 1-2 blocks)
  • subspeciality blocks (Transition to Practice)
  • community block (Transition to Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 6 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre
  • QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary
  • IWK Health Centre, Pediatric Ophthalmology Department
  • Bayers Lake Community Outpatient Centre
  • Halifax Vision Surgical Centre
  • New Brunswick - Cornea (Rothesay · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 6; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre, QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre

Matched to QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

IWK Health Centre, Pediatric Ophthalmology Department

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 5 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years1 date, 20 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Dalhousie University's Ophthalmology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in a state-of-the-art facility, preparing residents for both academic and community ophthalmology practice.
  • The program emphasizes high-quality medical education, research, and clinical excellence, with a strong commitment to training ophthalmologists who can serve the Maritime provinces and Canada.
Research
Residents are required to complete a research project, with protected research time and opportunities to present at annual research day. The Clinician Investigator Program supports one full year of research during residency.
Training setting
Urban medical center training across multiple sites in Halifax, Nova Scotia, including QEII Health Sciences Centre, IWK Health Centre, and community outpatient centers, with potential rotations in other Maritime provinces.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing group cooperation, collaborative learning, and comprehensive skill development through structured rotations and research opportunities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • CV/Resume
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Elective Evaluations
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officeophthed@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Ophthalmology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal - OphthalmologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 790 km

    5 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - OphthalmologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - OphthalmologyQueen’s University

    Kingston, ON · 1,025 km

    3 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 2 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36373 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 5 Oct: Additional documents: text added and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 5 Octchanged between 1 and 5 Oct

    • Additional documents: text added

      From the CaRMS page, read 5 Oct
    • Review process: text removed

      As the CaRMS page read on 1 Oct, before it was removed

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?