South West Nova - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySouth West Nova, Nova Scotia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 311
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 401–600601+601+
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%0–25%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Nova Scotian IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
all 3 info sessions of this programThu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST
Interviews
5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027
1 date, 22 Jan 2027
1 date, 22 Jan 2027
South West Nova, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Four-week orientation including simulation, IT setup and a week of buddy shifts in hospitalist and call settings.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Mostly one-on-one teaching, with little competition from other specialty residents.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
A community navigator helps residents with housing, relocation and spousal needs.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- South West Nova is a two-year Dalhousie family medicine site with a longitudinal integrated curriculum, centred at Yarmouth Regional Hospital.
- Training takes place in rural communities in Yarmouth, Digby and Shelburne counties, and all rotations are on-site except second-year electives.
- Residents spend two days per week in PGY1 and three in PGY2 at their primary family practice, and complete a required scholarly project with protected time.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- primary family medicine clinictwo days per week
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- electives8 weeks
- primary family medicine clinicthree days per week
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- General Surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Palliative Medicine
- Anesthesia
- PGY-1
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- electives8 weeks
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- General Surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Palliative Medicine
- Anesthesia
- PGY-1
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- electives8 weeks
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- General Surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Palliative Medicine
- Anesthesia
Where you train
South West Nova, Nova Scotia: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community. A car is required.
- Yarmouth Regional Hospital (Yarmouth)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 1.
Moving to a new system: Yarmouth Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Yarmouth Regional Hospital
- Clinical record
- One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026
- Hospital type
- Regional
Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date).
About Yarmouth
People
6,829residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−2.6 °CJanuary mean17.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Return of service, Nova Scotian IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Nova Scotian IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 22 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), Nova Scotian IMG stream
- 22 Jan 2027
- Format, CMG stream
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Format, IMG stream
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
- Format, Nova Scotian IMG stream
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026
7:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMSCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 2026
7:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMSCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Sat 9 Jan 2027
12:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMSCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No work required once handover is completed
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
After residency
Family doctors in Nova Scotia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, enrolled patients and visits: the Longitudinal Family Medicine (LFM) payment model. New-to-practice physicians have a protected panel for their first year, based on the FTE in their offer letter. To join: 46 weeks a year in office-based clinical practice. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 2 years | 5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Nova Scotian IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 2 years | 10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026 |
| Nova Scotian IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The South West Nova (SWN) Program is a fully integrated longitudinal family medicine residency that caters to self-directed learners passionate about rural medicine.
- Located in southwestern Nova Scotia, the program offers comprehensive training across various clinical settings, preparing residents for diverse family practice environments with a strong focus on rural healthcare.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time and support from faculty.
- Training setting
- Rural and distributed training sites across Yarmouth, Digby, and Shelburne counties in Nova Scotia, with Yarmouth Regional Hospital serving as the primary academic center.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, longitudinal learning, and one-on-one mentorship, emphasizing comprehensive family medicine practice across diverse clinical settings.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- FMProC score
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to South West Nova
- Bilingual
- Regional
Did this page answer your question?