Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax-South Shore - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax-South Shore, Nova Scotia

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent…” details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Halifax-South Shore, 8 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is required

After residency in Nova Scotia: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • PGY1 residents care for a long-term care patient panel throughout core family medicine, with a long-term care curriculum.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • PGY2 horizontal elective options include Gender Affirming Care, one day weekly for 9 weeks.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's Halifax-South Shore site is a 2-year family medicine residency that combines training in Halifax with up to about half of each year in the South Shore area.
  • Core family medicine is completed in the South Shore area, including Lunenburg, Bridgewater and Liverpool, while pediatrics is at the IWK Health Centre.
  • Residents start with a four-week Foundations in Family Medicine orientation block in Halifax and must complete a scholarly project with protected time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Core Family Medicine with integrated Emergency Medicine BlockSouth Shore area16 weeks
  • General MedicineQueen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary, or Dartmouth General Hospital8 weeks
  • PediatricsIWK Health Centre8 weeks
  • Obstetrics and GynecologyIWK Health Centre or South Shore Regional Hospital8 weeks
  • Foundations in Family MedicineHalifax Sites’ academic centre and teaching clinics4 weeks
  • General SurgerySouth Shore Regional Hospital, Bridgewater, or Dartmouth General Hospital4 weeks
  • SelectivesHalifax and South Shore area, including Liverpool, Bridgewater, and Lunenburg4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
  • Clinical Half Days in Family MedicineHalifaxvariable
PGY-2
  • Core Family Medicine blockSouth Shore area18 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineCompleted anywhere in Nova Scotia or on the South Shore12 weeks
  • Electives10 weeks
  • PGY2 SelectivesHalifax area4 weeks
  • Geriatric MedicineSouth Shore area4 weeks
  • Palliative Care MedicineHalifax4 weeks
  • PsychiatrySouth Shore area or Halifax2–4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax-South Shore, Nova Scotia: 8 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is required.

  • Halifax Sites' academic centre and teaching clinics (Halifax)
  • Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
  • Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
  • Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
  • IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
  • South Shore Regional Hospital (Bridgewater · rural or distributed site)
  • Fishermen's Memorial Hospital (Lunenburg · rural or distributed site)
  • Queens General Hospital (Liverpool · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5 of 9; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: South Shore Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary, Dartmouth General Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Dartmouth General Hospital

Matched to Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional
Show facts for 4 more sites

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

South Shore Regional Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to South Shore Regional Hospital (Bridgewater) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Fishermen's Memorial Hospital

Matched to Fishermen's Memorial Hospital (Lunenburg) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Community

Queens General Hospital

Matched to Queens General Hospital (Liverpool) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Community

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent iterations of the CaRMS match.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in Nova Scotia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, enrolled patients and visits: the Longitudinal Family Medicine (LFM) payment model. New-to-practice physicians have a protected panel for their first year, based on the FTE in their offer letter. To join: 46 weeks a year in office-based clinical practice. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream32 years5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match
IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream22 years10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
IMG stream12 years5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie Family Medicine program trains residents to become comprehensive family physicians who can address the health needs of Maritime communities.
  • Residents will experience a diverse training environment spanning urban Halifax and rural South Shore areas, with opportunities to develop skills in various clinical settings.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time, focusing on critically reviewing literature and potentially designing research studies.
Training setting
A distributed training program across urban Halifax and rural South Shore communities in Nova Scotia, offering diverse clinical experiences in academic medical centers, community clinics, and rural healthcare settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education emphasizing self-directed learning, teamwork, and progressive independence, with a focus on comprehensive patient care across various clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV content
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax-South Shore

  • Annapolis Valley · 77 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

    Rural
  • Halifax - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Halifax · 80 km

    27 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

  • South West Nova - Bilingual · 129 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35746 (CMG stream), 36341 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream