Skip to content
CdnMD

Saint John - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversitySaint John, New Brunswick

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions−1 from 7 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

New Brunswicker IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent…” details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

Not stated on the CMG stream’s CaRMS page

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Saint John, 3 teaching sites · 12 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in New Brunswick: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Family Medicine is the largest department at Saint John Regional Hospital, with over 200 beds for family physicians' patients.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal psychiatry experience integrated into a 20-week PGY2 core family medicine rotation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year Dalhousie family medicine program based in Saint John, centred on the Saint John Regional Hospital and community family practices.
  • Residents follow their own patient panel through a half-day back extended over both years.
  • PGY2 includes a 12-week community family medicine rotation living in a small Maritime community, and a scholarly project with protected time is required.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Core Family MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • PediatricsSaint John8 weeks
  • Intro to Family Medicine*Saint John4 weeks
  • General SurgerySaint John4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John4 weeks
  • Obstetrics and GynecologySaint John4 weeks
  • Palliative CareSaint John4 Weeks
  • SelectiveResident's choice within home site4 weeks
  • Orthopaedic SurgerySaint John4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Core Family Medicine/PsychiatrySaint John20 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineResident will live and work in a small Maritime community12 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks Resident's choice, 4 weeks Maritimes8 weeks
  • HospitalistSaint John4 weeks
  • GeriatricsSaint John4 weeks
  • Prenatal Care & Gynecological HealthSaint John4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
PGY-1
  • Core Family MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • PediatricsSaint John8 weeks
  • Intro to Family MedicineSaint John4 weeks
  • General SurgerySaint John4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John4 weeks
  • Obstetrics and GynecologySaint John4 weeks
  • Palliative CareSaint John4 Weeks
  • SelectiveResident's choice within home site4 weeks
  • Orthopaedic SurgerySaint John4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Core Family Medicine/PsychiatrySaint John20 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineResident will live and work in a small Maritime community12 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks Resident's choice, 4 weeks Maritimes8 weeks
  • HospitalistSaint John4 weeks
  • GeriatricsSaint John4 weeks
  • Prenatal Care & Gynecological HealthSaint John4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saint John, New Brunswick: 3 teaching sites; 12 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • Saint Joseph’s Hopsital
  • St. Joseph’s Community Health Centre

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Inpatient beds. As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445

Saint Joseph’s Hopsital

Matched to St. Joseph's Hospital / Hôpital St. Joseph (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
103

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.

About Saint John

  • People

    69,895residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saint John

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saint John, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.9 °CJanuary mean17.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saint John, 15.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saint John (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent iterations of the CaRMS match.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on the CMG stream’s CaRMS page
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Saint John.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20203 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
202400
20254 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20264 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream62 yearsVirtual
  • Positions 7 → 6 from the 2026 match
New Brunswicker IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream72 years10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie Family Medicine program trains residents to become comprehensive family physicians who can provide care across diverse settings in Maritime communities.
  • The Saint John site offers a unique training experience with a focus on community-based learning, patient continuity, and comprehensive clinical skills.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time and support for research activities.
Training setting
Urban medical center in Saint John, New Brunswick, with training across multiple clinical sites including Saint John Regional Hospital and St. Joseph's Hospital, offering both community and tertiary care experiences.
Teaching approach
Preceptor-based learning model emphasizing progressive independence, continuity of care, and hands-on clinical experience across diverse medical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Interview performance
  • FMProC assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Saint John

  • Fredericton - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Fredericton · 89 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Annapolis Valley, NS · 124 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

    Rural
  • Moncton - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Moncton · 135 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The New Brunswicker IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35886 (CMG stream), 37244 (New Brunswicker IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamNew Brunswicker IMG stream · change stream