Skip to content
CdnMD

Moncton - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityMoncton, New Brunswick

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions−1 from 8 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: “To be considered in the second iteration or subsequent iterations, IMG applicants must…” details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Moncton, 1 teaching site · 12 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in New Brunswick: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Core PGY1 dermatology and plastic surgery/minor procedures rotations.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Family medicine residents are often the only trainee on a rotation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Dalhousie family medicine program is based at The Moncton Hospital, with all first-year rotations in Moncton.
  • The block-based program matches residents to a primary family medicine preceptor, with weekly half-days back for longitudinal patient follow-up.
  • In second year, residents spend 12 weeks with a community family physician in a town or rural setting, and a scholarly project is required.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Core Family MedicineMoncton8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineMoncton8 weeks
  • Obstetrics/GynecologyMoncton8 weeks
  • Foundation BlockMoncton4 weeks
  • General SurgeryMoncton4 weeks
  • Geriatric MedicineMoncton4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineMoncton4 weeks
  • PediatricsMoncton4 weeks
  • Plastics/DermatologyMoncton4 weeks (2 weeks of each)
  • SelectiveMoncton4 weeks
  • VacationPer Resident4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Integrated Family Medicine + PsychiatryMoncton20 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineMaritime Provinces12 weeks
  • Critical CareMoncton4 weeks
  • OrthopedicsMoncton4 weeks
  • Palliative CareMoncton4 weeks
  • Electives (x2)Per Resident4 weeks each (2 electives)
  • VacationPer Resident4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Moncton, New Brunswick: 1 teaching site; 12 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • The Moncton Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

The Moncton Hospital

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.

About Moncton

  • People

    79,470residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Moncton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Moncton, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −8.4 °CJanuary mean19.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Moncton, 7.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Moncton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • “To be considered in the second iteration or subsequent iterations, IMG applicants must have participated in Dalhousie Family Medicine’s first-iteration MMI”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Moncton.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream72 years5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 8 → 7 from the 2026 match
IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream82 years10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie Family Medicine Moncton program offers comprehensive training in a vibrant, supportive environment located in southeastern New Brunswick.
  • Residents receive solid clinical learning and academic curriculum across diverse settings, with a strong emphasis on community-based family medicine and comprehensive patient care.
Research
Residents complete a mandatory scholarly project with support from a Resident Project Coordinator, with opportunities to collaborate on primary care research.
Training setting
Located in Moncton, New Brunswick, with training across various Maritime community settings, including urban hospital and rural clinic environments. Primarily based at The Moncton Hospital, a 400-bed facility with strong family medicine integration.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, self-directed learning, and comprehensive clinical experiences across diverse practice settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • FMProC assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Medical Education Manager, Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency.moncton@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Moncton

  • Annapolis Valley, NS · 114 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

    Rural
  • Miramichi - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Miramichi · 118 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Prince Edward Island, NS · 128 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35693 (CMG stream), 35531 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream