Skip to content
CdnMD

Miramichi - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityMiramichi, New Brunswick

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: not stated on the CaRMS page

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Miramichi, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page2 teaching sites

A car is required

After residency in New Brunswick: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal integrated curriculum rather than block rotations across most disciplines over two years.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Free French language training is offered at the hospital.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year Dalhousie family medicine program based in Miramichi, New Brunswick, a small city with a 146-bed hospital.
  • Clinical training is delivered in a longitudinal integrated format, plus a 4-week obstetrics and gynecology block in Saint John.
  • Residents must complete a scholarly project with protected time and typically work one-on-one with a preceptor.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • selectivesMiramichifour weeks
PGY-2
  • Electiveseight weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Orthopedic surgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychiatry
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Hospitalist (1-2 week)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology (1-2 week)
  • Intensive Care (1-2 week)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology (4-week · Saint John, New Brunswick)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Miramichi, New Brunswick: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page2 teaching sites. A car is required.

  • Miramichi
  • Saint John (Saint John)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: no published record for 2 of 2.

About Miramichi

  • People

    17,692residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Miramichi

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −9.8 °CJanuary mean19.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Miramichi, 2.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Miramichi (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Miramichi.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream32 years5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match
IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream22 years10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
New Brunswicker IMG stream12 years5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Miramichi Family Medicine residency program offers a true community family medicine experience in a welcoming, friendly region of New Brunswick.
  • Residents will have comprehensive training across various clinical settings, preparing them to be competent and confident family physicians ready to manage diverse clinical situations.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities.
Training setting
Miramichi is a small city with a rural community base, featuring a 146-bed hospital with comprehensive specialty services and multiple local clinics serving the population's needs.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, patient-centered care, and gradual responsibility increase throughout training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC score
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Miramichi

  • Moncton - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Moncton · 118 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Fredericton - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Fredericton · 147 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Saint John - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Saint John · 200 km

    7 positions · CMG, New Brunswicker IMG

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35252 (CMG stream), 35847 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream