Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Psychiatry

Western UniversityLondon, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

3 dates, 19–27 Jan 2027virtual

London, 8 teaching sites9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Block-long July orientation with introductory clinical experience before service begins.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Full protected academic day every Thursday from PGY-2 to PGY-5.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Hosts the P. Chandarana London Psychiatry Review Course for Royal College exam preparation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's five-year psychiatry residency in London trains residents mainly at London Health Sciences Centre, with Victoria Hospital as the primary site.
  • Training begins with a block-long orientation, and PGY-4 and PGY-5 include 15 blocks of electives.
  • Call is taken at the Centralized Emergency Psychiatry Services, and rural rotations are optional.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • orientationone block
PGY-2
  • half-time selective in a more specialized area of outpatient psychiatry3-block
  • General Adult Psychiatry rotations (inpatient and outpatient)
PGY-3
  • neurodevelopmental disorder experiencetwo-week
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Geriatric Psychiatry
PGY-4
  • consolidation block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Shared Care (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Complex Care and Recovery (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Transition to Practice (TTP) clinical experience (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • elective rotations (PGY-4 and PGY-5 · 15 blocks)
PGY-1
  • orientationone block
PGY-2
  • half-time selective in a more specialized area of outpatient psychiatry3-block
  • General Adult Psychiatry rotations (inpatient and outpatient)
PGY-3
  • neurodevelopmental disorder experiencetwo-week
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Geriatric Psychiatry
PGY-4
  • consolidation block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Shared Care (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Complex Care and Recovery (formally Severe and Persistent Mental Illness) (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • Transition to Practice (TTP) clinical experience (PGY-4 and PGY-5)
  • elective rotations (PGY-4 and PGY-5 · 15 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 8 teaching sites9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Victoria Hospital (LHSC-VH)
  • London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC)
  • University Hospital (LHSC-UH)
  • Children's Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Health Care (SJHC)
  • Parkwood Institute Mental Health Care
  • Southwest Centre for Forensic Mental Health Care (St. Thomas)
  • Child and Parent Resource Institute (CPRI)
  • Victoria Hospital (LHSC-VH)
  • University Hospital (LHSC-UH)
  • Children's Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Health Care (SJHC)
  • Mount Hope
  • Parkwood Hospital
  • Parkwood Institute Mental Health Care
  • Southwest Centre for Forensic Mental Health Care (St. Thomas)
  • Child and Parent Resource Institute (CPRI)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 1 of 10, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Victoria Hospital (LHSC-VH), London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC), University Hospital (LHSC-UH).

Children's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Joseph's Health Care (SJHC)

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 22 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “approximately 1 in 7 days”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: London.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20232 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202500
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 19–27 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: contacts (noticed 13 Oct)
IMG stream35 years3 dates, 19–27 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: contacts (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 20–28 Jan 2026
IMG stream35 years3 dates, 20–28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Western University's Psychiatry Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in London and Windsor, Ontario.
  • The program provides a balanced educational approach with a favorable faculty-to-resident ratio, allowing for direct supervision and exposure to the full breadth of psychiatric practice.
  • Residents benefit from a flexible curriculum, strong research opportunities, and a supportive learning environment.
Research
Residents participate in research methodology training, with active research programs in mood and anxiety disorders, stress-related disorders, and child-adolescent psychiatry.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban academic medical centers in London, Ontario, including London Health Sciences Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care, and specialized facilities like the Child and Parent Resource Institute.
Teaching approach
The program emphasizes competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on comprehensive training that prepares residents for diverse psychiatric practice settings through supervised clinical experiences, didactic teaching, and longitudinal learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Medical school transcript
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Leadership potential
  • Extra-curricular activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Jonathan Gregory

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officePGEPsychiatry@lhsc.on.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Waterloo - PsychiatryMcMaster University

    Waterloo · 79 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - PsychiatryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 116 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PsychiatryToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 146 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35640 (CMG stream), 35809 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: CMG and IMG streams: Program contacts updated. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • CMG and IMG streams: Program contacts updated

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream