Skip to content
CdnMD

Waterloo - Psychiatry

McMaster UniversityWaterloo, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

3 dates, 25 Jan – 1 Feb 2027virtual

2 dates, 25–28 Jan 2027virtual

Waterloo, 8 teaching sites6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Academic learning through a 'One Room Schoolhouse' system unique to the Waterloo Regional Campus.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents choose their own site and supervisor for psychiatry rotations; they are not assigned to meet clinical needs.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • An 8-week resident-designed selective working with marginalized populations.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year McMaster psychiatry residency at the Waterloo Regional Campus, focused on care for marginalized and vulnerable populations in a regional or smaller community setting.
  • Residents rotate through sites including Waterloo Regional Health Network, Guelph General Hospital, Homewood Health Centre and Cambridge Memorial Hospital.
  • From PGY2, residents choose the site and supervisor for their rotations, and the scholarly requirements include a quality improvement project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Emergency Psychiatryfour-week block
  • selectiveone block
  • electiveone block
  • Internal Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Neurology
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Addictions
  • core rotation working with the medical team providing care to patients admitted to Psychiatry
PGY-2
  • General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
  • General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Anchored Selective1 block partnered with 1 block at start of PGY3, for total of 2 blocks
PGY-3
  • Child & Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
PGY-4
  • Chronic Care Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Elective, which may include research4 blocks
  • Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry3 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Discipline Stage of Training (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
  • Collaborative Care (Transition to Practice · 3 blocks)
  • electives (Transition to Practice · 10 blocks)
PGY-1
  • Emergency Psychiatryfour-week block
  • selectiveone block
  • electiveone block
  • Internal Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Neurology
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Addictions
PGY-2
  • General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
  • General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Anchored Selective1 block
PGY-3
  • Child & Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
PGY-4
  • Chronic Care Psychiatry6 blocks
  • Elective, which may include research4 blocks
  • Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry3 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
  • Collaborative Care (Transition to Practice · 3 blocks)
  • electives (Transition to Practice · 10 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Waterloo, Ontario: 8 teaching sites6 teaching sites.

  • Waterloo Regional Health Network (WRHN)
  • Grand River Hospital (Kitchener-Waterloo)
  • Waterloo Regional Health Network's Chicopee Site
  • Guelph General Hospital (Guelph)
  • Homewood Health Centre (Guelph)
  • Cambridge Memorial Hospital (Cambridge)
  • Canadian Mental Health Association in Guelph (Guelph)
  • University of Guelph and the University of Waterloo Student Health Centres

Distributed across a region

  • Waterloo Regional Health Network (WRHN)
  • Grand River Hospital (Kitchener-Waterloo)
  • Waterloo Regional Health Network's Chicopee Site
  • Guelph General Hospital (Guelph)
  • Homewood Health Centre (Guelph)
  • Cambridge Memorial Hospital (Cambridge)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 8, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 5.

Moving to a new system: Cambridge Memorial Hospital.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Grand River Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Guelph General Hospital

Clinical record
Meditech, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Cambridge Memorial Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Waterloo

  • People

    121,436residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Waterloo

  • Housing

    4.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −6.3 °CJanuary mean20.2 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kitchener/Waterloo, 13.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Waterloo (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 28 Jan 2027; 1 Feb 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “approximately 1/7 as a junior resident (PGY1 & 2) and approximately 1/12-15 as a senior resident (PGY3-5)”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years3 dates, 25 Jan – 1 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 25–28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years3 dates, 19–26 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 19–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McMaster Psychiatry Postgraduate Program at the Waterloo Regional Campus aims to train psychiatrists who can work effectively in community hospitals and outpatient settings, with a focus on providing care for marginalized and vulnerable populations.
  • The program emphasizes Royal College CanMEDS competencies, community-based training, and comprehensive psychiatric skills development.
Research
Residents can pursue research through elective blocks, longitudinal protected time, and the Clinician Investigator Program (CIP), with opportunities to complete graduate degrees concurrently with residency.
Training setting
Training occurs in various locations including primary care hospitals and community-based programs in the Waterloo region, emphasizing the psychiatrist's role as a consultant and multidisciplinary team member.
Teaching approach
A flexible, responsive training approach that encourages scholarly inquiry, personal initiative, principles of adult learning, and self-directed learning with a focus on Competency-Based Medical Education.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Evidence of interest in psychiatry
  • Work ethic
  • Team working skills
  • Leadership experiences
  • Professionalism
  • Communication skills
  • Academic record
  • Scholarly work commitment
  • Reference letters

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

WRC Program Administrator

Write to the officewcpgpsyc@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Waterloo

  • Hamilton - PsychiatryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 57 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PsychiatryToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 72 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

  • London - PsychiatryWestern University

    London · 79 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35433 (CMG stream), 35981 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream