Skip to content
CdnMD

London - General Surgery

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 27 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

London, 3 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Very few fellowship programs, maximizing resident operative exposure.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Access to Canadian Surgical Technologies and Advanced Robotics (CSTAR) centre.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Self-scheduling for senior residents and protected 5th-year study time.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Western's General Surgery program is a five-year Competence by Design residency based at three London sites.
  • Residents complete a 3-month mandatory community rotation, with linkages to regional communities including Windsor, Stratford and Owen Sound.
  • Senior residents take home call at 1 in 4, while juniors do night shifts.
  • Full-time research and a Master's option of a year or more are available.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • general surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 8-blocks)
  • trauma (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)
  • transplantation (Foundations to Discipline · 1-block)
  • vascular (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)
  • thoracic surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)
  • critical care (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)
  • endoscopy (Foundations to Discipline · 4-blocks)
  • community surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 3-blocks)
  • pediatric surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)
  • breast surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 2-blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • London Health Sciences Centre, University Campus
  • London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Campus
  • St. Joseph's Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At London Health Sciences Centre, University Campus, London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Campus.

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · frequency “1 in 4”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream65 years1 date, 27 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)Nothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years1 date, 28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Western University's General Surgery Residency is a comprehensive 5-year program that provides exceptional surgical training with a focus on clinical skills, research, and career flexibility.
  • The program emphasizes broad clinical experience across subspecialty areas, with a unique combination of small program size and large clinical volume that ensures frequent interaction between staff and residents.
Research
Full-time research opportunities available, with funding for conference presentations and potential for obtaining a Master's degree.
Training setting
Training occurs across three main sites in London, Ontario, including London Health Sciences Centre (University and Victoria Campuses) and St. Joseph's Hospital. The program also includes rural regional components with linkages to several community hospitals.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, focusing on progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and tailoring rotations to individual resident career goals.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Application score
  • Interview performance
  • Reference letters
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Leadership potential
  • Interpersonal skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program office

Residency Program Administrator, Division Administrator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Hamilton - General SurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 116 km

    6 positions · CMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 146 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - General SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 168 km

    16 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 31 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35541 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?