Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Kincardine - Family Medicine

Western UniversityRural Kincardine, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Interviews

3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 15 Jan 2027virtual

Rural Kincardine, 2 teaching sites · based in a rural community

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Patient population includes a large agricultural community with Mennonite and Amish patients.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year Western University family medicine program based in Kincardine, a town of about 12,000 on Lake Huron.
  • Residents are based at the Hawthorne Community Clinic, with hospital work at South Bruce Grey Health Centre Kincardine, including emergency, inpatient and specialist clinics.
  • Year 2 follows a longitudinal curriculum mostly in Kincardine and includes 12 weeks of electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

PGY-2
  • elective time12 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Kincardine, Ontario: 2 teaching sites; based in a rural community.

  • Hawthorne Community Clinic (Kincardine)
  • South Bruce Grey Health Centre Kincardine (Kincardine)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

South Bruce Grey Health Centre Kincardine

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kincardine

  • People

    12,268residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kincardine

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −4.6 °CJanuary mean19.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Goderich, 44.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kincardine (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream12 years3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream12 years1 date, 15 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream12 years3 dates, 21–25 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years2 dates, 16–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Western University Family Medicine Rural Kincardine program is a two-year residency designed to prepare confident and competent general practitioners capable of working in any setting across Canada.
  • The curriculum focuses on building foundational family medicine knowledge in Kincardine, with opportunities for off-site training and specialty area exploration.
Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Located in Kincardine, a town of approximately 12,000 people on the shores of Lake Huron, with training at Hawthorne Community Clinic and South Bruce Grey Health Centre.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on developing comprehensive family physicians through progressive independence and diverse clinical experiences.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Transcripts
  • Reference letters
  • Interview
  • FMProC Assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Daniel Grushka

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Write to the officejberge33@uwo.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Kincardine

  • Rural Hanover · 48 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • Rural-Owen Sound · 70 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • Rural Mount Forest · 74 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36184 (CMG stream), 36076 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream