Rural Hanover - Family Medicine
Western UniversityRural Hanover, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 21
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
all 3 info sessions of this programWed 4 Nov 2026,6:30–8:30 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027
1 date, 15 Jan 2027
Rural Hanover, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Residents must live in Hanover for PGY2 and practise mostly in a rural family practice.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 2-year family medicine residency at Western University aimed at producing generalists for rural Canada.
- The first year builds foundations in medicine and surgery, and in the second year residents spend most of their time in a rural family practice, with exposure to the ER, intrapartum obstetrics and inpatient care.
- Residents must live in Hanover during PGY2.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Where you train
Rural Hanover, Ontario: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community.
- Hanover Medical Clinic (Hanover)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Hanover
People
7,967residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−7.1 °CJanuary mean19.4 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 15 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Wed 4 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 11 Nov 2026
7:00–9:00 pm EST
Q&A · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 18 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
After residency
Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 2 years | 3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 15 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 2 years | 3 dates, 21–25 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 16 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Western University Family Medicine Rural Hanover program is a two-year residency designed to produce comprehensive rural family physicians capable of providing high-quality medical care in both outpatient and hospital environments.
- The curriculum focuses on developing robust generalists who can meet the current and future healthcare needs of rural Canadians through a progressive training approach.
- Research
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Training setting
- Rural setting in Hanover, Ontario, with training primarily occurring at the Hanover Medical Clinic and local healthcare facilities. Residents are required to live in Hanover during their PGY-2 year.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing comprehensive generalist skills through immersive rural medical experiences and structured academic learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview
- Family Medicine Professional Choices Assessment (FMProC)
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shiftsTopics: call · service
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Rural Hanover
- Rural
- Rural
- Rural
Did this page answer your question?