Rural Listowel - Family Medicine
Western UniversityRural Listowel, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
all 3 info sessions of this programWed 4 Nov 2026,6:30–8:30 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027
1 date, 15 Jan 2027
Rural Listowel, 3 teaching sites · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Residents must live in the rural community of Listowel in PGY2, with the site guaranteeing suitable housing.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Broad rural scope including anaesthesia, surgical assist, obstetrics and house calls with the family medicine preceptor.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year family medicine program trains residents in a rural setting based in Listowel.
- The first year combines a 16-week family medicine block with off-service rotations supported by nearby sites including Stratford and Wingham.
- The second year is longitudinal, spent mostly in Listowel, with up to 12 weeks of elective time, and residents must live in Listowel in PGY2.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
By year
- PGY-1
- family medicine16 week
- PGY-2
- elective timeup to 12 weeks
Where you train
Rural Listowel, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; based in a rural community.
- Listowel (Listowel)
- Stratford (Stratford · rural or distributed site)
- Wingham (Wingham · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 3 of 3.
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Listowel
People
15,538residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−7.1 °CJanuary mean19.4 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 15 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Wed 4 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 11 Nov 2026
7:00–9:00 pm EST
Q&A · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 18 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
After residency
Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 15 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 3 dates, 21–25 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 1 date, 16 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Western University Family Medicine Rural Listowel program offers a comprehensive two-year residency training experience focused on preparing residents for rural practice across Canada.
- The curriculum combines rotation-based learning in the first year with an integrated longitudinal schedule in the second year, providing a breadth of learning experiences in a rural setting.
- Research
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Training setting
- Rural community of Listowel, Ontario, with training sites in nearby communities like Stratford and Wingham. Residents have opportunities to practice in various clinical settings including family medicine clinic, emergency department, and long-term care.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on providing residents a comprehensive rural practice experience that prepares them for work anywhere in Canada.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview
- Family Medicine Professional Choices Assessment
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shiftsTopics: call · service
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Rural Listowel
- Rural
- Rural
- Rural
Did this page answer your question?