Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 18 Nov 2026virtual

London, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Residents choose a London or a Windsor stream, and training is spread across London, Windsor and Sarnia.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • An 8-week integrated block in Sarnia ends the year, where residents work relatively independently.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents act as junior attendings in the second half of the year and supervise and teach residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 12-month palliative care enhanced skills program at Western University made up of 13 block rotations.
  • The program is distributed: residents train in London, Windsor and Sarnia, and they choose either a London or a Windsor stream.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • LHSC (Victoria campus) (London Stream · 4 blocks · London)
  • LHSC (University campus) (London Stream · 2 blocks · London)
  • Windsor hospice (London Stream · 2 blocks · Windsor)
  • Windsor oncology (London Stream · 1 block · Windsor)
  • Sarnia (London Stream · 2 blocks · Sarnia)
  • elective (London Stream · 2 blocks)
  • paediatric palliative care selective (London Stream · 1 block)
  • LHSC (Victoria campus) (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · London)
  • LHSC (University campus) (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · London)
  • Windsor Hospice (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Windsor)
  • WRH consult service (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Metropolitan Campus, Ouellette Campus, and HDGH PCU)
  • Windsor oncology (Windsor Stream · 1 block · Windsor)
  • Sarnia (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Sarnia)
  • elective (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks)
  • paediatric palliative care selective (Windsor Stream · 1 block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 7 teaching sites.

  • LHSC (Victoria campus)
  • LHSC (University campus)
  • Windsor hospice (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Windsor oncology (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • WRH consult service (Metropolitan Campus, Ouellette Campus, and HDGH PCU) (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Hotel Dieu Grace Palliative Care unit (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Sarnia (Sarnia · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 7 of 7.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
18 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Administrative Assistant, Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere

Nearest to London

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 24 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34543 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?