Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Anesthesiology

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
15 positions+1 from 14 in the 2026 match
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 13 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Global elective in Parma, Italy, in out-of-hospital ambulance critical care for senior residents.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal obstetrical anesthesia plus a protected block in high-risk quaternary-care obstetrical anesthesia.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Virtual reality simulation in the OR during morning teaching at Sunnybrook.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Toronto anesthesiology residency is a 5-year program training residents across multiple Toronto hospitals, including The Hospital for Sick Children, Mount Sinai and Sunnybrook.
  • Residents also rotate through community hospitals such as Trillium Health Partners and Scarborough Health Network.
  • All residents follow a longitudinal POCUS curriculum and must complete a scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • pediatric anesthesia (Foundations Stage)
  • medicine (Foundations Stage)
  • critical care (Foundations Stage)
  • medicine (Core Training Stage)
  • critical care (Core Training Stage)
  • High-risk Obstetrical Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
  • Thoracics (Core Training Stage)
  • Regional Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
  • Chronic Pain (Core Training Stage)
  • community hospital experience (one block)
  • Respirology
  • CCU

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline Stage · 3 block)
  • pediatric anesthesia (Foundations Stage)
  • medicine (Foundations Stage)
  • critical care (Foundations Stage)
  • medicine (Core Training Stage)
  • critical care (Core Training Stage)
  • High-risk Obstetrical Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
  • Thoracics (Core Training Stage)
  • Regional Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
  • Chronic Pain (Core Training Stage)
  • community hospital experience (one block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 13 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • The Holland Centre
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Health Science Centre
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Women’s College Hospital
  • Scarborough Health Network
Show all 13 sites
  • Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • Holland Centre
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Health Science Centre
  • Toronto General Hospital
  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • North York General Hospital
  • Women's College Hospital
  • Scarborough Health Network
Show all 13 sites
  • Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 7 of 15, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 6.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

9 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At St. Michael's Hospital, St. Joseph's Health Science Centre.
Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital.

The Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream155 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 14 → 15 from the 2026 match
IMG stream45 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream145 years2 dates, 27–28 Jan 2026
IMG stream45 years2 dates, 27–28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto offers a comprehensive, fully accredited Anesthesiology residency program with over 350 staff anesthesiologists across multiple specialized hospitals.
  • The program provides exceptional training opportunities, emphasizing clinical excellence, social accountability, and intellectual inquiry through a robust academic and clinical environment.
Research
Extensive research opportunities with support for scholarly projects, graduate degrees, and the Clinician Investigator Program.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers across Toronto, including quaternary care hospitals, specialized pediatric and trauma centers, and community hospitals. Residents rotate through multiple sites with diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing workplace-based assessments, frequent formative feedback, and staged learning with increasing clinical responsibility.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Application file review
  • Interview performance
  • Reference letters
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Resume
  • Scholarly project

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Residency Program Officer, Residency Program Coordinator

Write to the officeresidency.anesthesia@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 22 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - AnesthesiologyMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 59 km

    10 positions · CMG, IMG

  • London - AnesthesiologyWestern University

    London · 168 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35508 (CMG stream), 35991 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream