Skip to content
CdnMD

St-Jean-sur-Richelieu - Family Medicine

Université de SherbrookeSt-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, 2 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Integrated structure where residents follow their GMF-U patients throughout first year alongside hospital, emergency and perinatal activities.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine program based at the GMF-U Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and the hôpital du Haut-Richelieu.
  • The curriculum is integrated, with family medicine follow-up alternating with hospital medicine, emergency and perinatal care.
  • In second year, residents complete a two-month family medicine rotation at an external unit, possibly in a remote region.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

PGY-1
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE RIGMF-U Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu11 périodes
  • OPTIONVoir Stages optionnels2 périodes
PGY-2
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE RIIGMF-U Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu9 périodes
  • UNITÉ EXTÉRIEUREVoir Unité extérieure2 périodes
  • OPTIONVoir Stages optionnels1 période
  • 3E SÉLECTIFEn GMF-U ou à la même unité extérieure de 2 périodes1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec: 2 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • GMF-U Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu)
  • Santé Québec Montérégie-Centre, hôpital du Haut-Richelieu (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu)

Record systems at the listed sites: Purkinje-HM at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Santé Québec Montérégie-Centre, hôpital du Haut-Richelieu

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital du Haut-Richelieu (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 23,227 · 2026–2027: 24,537 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 249 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 20 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu

  • People

    97,873residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.0 °CJanuary mean21.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, L'acadie, 7.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20235 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
20243 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
20264 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream82 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamSt-Jean-sur-Richelieu - Médecine familiale82 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience across 12 Family Medicine Teaching Units (GMF-U). The program focuses on training versatile family physicians who can provide continuous, comprehensive care to diverse patient populations in various clinical settings.

Research
Opportunities for quality improvement projects, scholarly activities, and research through erudition projects and reading clubs.
Training setting
Training primarily occurs at the GMF-U Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Haut-Richelieu Hospital, with opportunities for rotations in various clinical settings and external units.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on developing versatile family physicians who can provide comprehensive, patient-centered care across diverse clinical contexts and patient populations.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical school transcript
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Motivation letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical competence

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire de direction, Secrétaire à l'enseignement

Write to the officemedfam-programme-mf@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to St-Jean-sur-Richelieu

  • La Pommeraie - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    La Pommeraie · 1 km

    7 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • de Saint-Hubert - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    de Saint-Hubert · 25 km

    8 positions · Regular

    City
  • de Verdun - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    de Verdun · 29 km

    14 positions · Regular

    City

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36408 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?