Skip to content
CdnMD

Estrie - Family Medicine

Université de SherbrookeEstrie, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
18 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • Family medicine training includes a Lennoxville site that also serves an anglophone population.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The GMF-U rotation includes a refugee clinic and shared mental health care.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year family medicine residency based at the GMF-U Estrie in Sherbrooke, with hospital activities at CHUS Fleurimont and Hôtel-Dieu.
  • Each year includes seven periods at the family medicine unit, and the second year adds a 2-period external unit rotation.
  • Interviews are virtual and run jointly with the other two francophone Quebec family medicine programs.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

PGY-1
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE7 périodes
  • MÉDECINE INTERNE2 périodes
  • SOINS PERS. ÂGÉES1 période
  • PÉDIATRIE1 période
  • URGENCE ET SOINS CRITIQUES1 période
  • OPTION1 période
PGY-2
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE7 périodes
  • OPTION2 périodes
  • UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE2 périodes
  • URGENCE1 période
  • 3E SÉLECTIF1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Estrie, Quebec: 3 teaching sites.

  • GMF-U Estrie (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 2 of 3; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital Fleurimont, Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Fleurimont

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20

Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke

Matched to CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 7 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Estrie.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream182 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamEstrie - Médecine familiale182 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train family physicians who provide continuous, comprehensive, and global care adapted to patient and community needs.
  • The program focuses on preparing physicians capable of practicing the 7 CanMeds-FM roles across primary care domains.
Research
Includes scholarly projects (ACQ/Research) and opportunities for additional research training
Training setting
Training primarily occurs at GMF-U Estrie in Sherbrooke, with clinical sites at Fleurimont Hospital and Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke, serving urban and semi-urban populations.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on progressive independence, comprehensive care, and developing physicians who can address diverse patient needs across different clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical school transcript
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letter of motivation
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical competence assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire de direction

Write to the officemedfam-programme-mf@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Estrie

  • Drummond - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Drummond · 70 km

    10 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Victoriaville - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Victoriaville · 72 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Richelieu-Yamaska - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Richelieu-Yamaska · 102 km

    16 positions · Regular

    Regional

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36125 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?