Skip to content
CdnMD

Saskatoon - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 27 Jan 2027virtual

Saskatoon, 10 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Residents train without other learners in the program, so senior trainees do not take clinical or operative opportunities.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Thoracic surgery rotation that emphasizes robotic surgery skills.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Junior Attending block in Transition to Practice, paired with a mentor the resident chooses.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a new five-year Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery residency at the University of Saskatchewan, admitting alternately 2 and 1 residents per year.
  • Training is based in Saskatoon, with community otolaryngology rotations in Prince Albert and Regina.
  • The curriculum includes a two-block protected research rotation and five blocks of elective time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Otolaryngology - general (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • General Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Trauma Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Anesthesiology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Neurosurgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Diagnostic Imaging (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Otolaryngology - general (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Critical Care Medicine (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Plastic Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Oral Maxillofacial Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Oculoplastics (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
  • Thoracic Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
  • Research (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Otolaryngology - General (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Otology/Neurotology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Rhinology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Elective (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Laryngology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Prince Albert - Community Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · Prince Albert)
  • Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Facial Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Oral Pathology (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Study time (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Prince Albert - Community Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 1 block · Prince Albert)
  • Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Otology/Neurotology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Junior Attending (Transition to Practice · 1 block)
  • Regina - Community Otolaryngology (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Regina)
  • Head & Neck Oncology (Transition to Practice · 1 block)
  • Elective (Transition to Practice · 1 block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 10 teaching sites.

  • St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH)
  • Royal University Hospital (RUH)
  • Avenue ENT
  • Saskatoon ENT
  • Prairieview Surgical Centre (PVSC)
  • Face Cosmetic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Victoria General Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
  • Regina General Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
  • Pasqua Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 6 of 10; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At St. Paul's Hospital (SPH), Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH), Royal University Hospital (RUH).
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital.

Victoria General Hospital

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Saskatoon

  • People

    266,141residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saskatoon

  • Housing

    3.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saskatoon (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Saskatoon

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36983 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?