Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 3 Feb 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Optional northern medicine experience in Indigenous communities, including Nunavut health centres, via the Northern Medical Unit.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Manitoba Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery residency is a five-year Royal College-accredited program.
  • Residents rotate through hospital-based services at St. Boniface Hospital, Adult HSC and pediatric otolaryngology, plus community-based laryngology, general ENT and facial plastics rotations.
  • Residents are expected to present at four annual resident research days.
  • Rural rotations are not mandatory, but residents may attend northern communities such as Churchill, Norway House, Thompson and Nunavut.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • neurosurgery
  • anesthesia
  • internal medicine
  • trauma
PGY-2
  • Medical ICU
  • Surgical ICU
  • Plastic Surgery

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Head and Neck Surgery (Transition to Discipline)
  • St. Boniface Hospital (Transition to Discipline · St. Boniface Hospital)
  • Adult HSC (Transition to Discipline · Adult HSC)
  • Children's HSC sites (Transition to Discipline · Children's HSC)
  • Head and Neck Surgery (Foundations)
  • Rhinology (Foundations · St. Boniface Hospital)
  • General/Otology (Foundations · Adult HSC)
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology (Foundations)
  • Head and Neck Surgery (Core)
  • Rhinology (Core · St. Boniface Hospital)
  • General/Otology (Core · Adult HSC)
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology (Core)
  • Laryngology (Core)
  • Community General ENT (Core)
  • Facial Plastics (Core)
  • Elective rotations (Core · 2 blocks)
  • Tailored to career goals and remaining EPA achievements (Transition to Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation. A car is recommended.

  • Health Sciences Centre-Winnipeg
  • St. Boniface Hospital
  • HSC Children's Hospital
  • Victoria General Hospital
  • CancerCare Manitoba
  • Maples Surgical Centre
  • Visage Clinic
  • Community ENT surgeon outpatient clinics

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 5 of 8; no published record for 3.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre-Winnipeg; St. Boniface Hospital; HSC Children's Hospital; Victoria General Hospital; CancerCare Manitoba (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre-Winnipeg, St. Boniface Hospital, HSC Children's Hospital, Victoria General Hospital, CancerCare Manitoba.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 3 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamHead and Neck Surgery - Otolaryngology25 years1 date, 26 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery is a five-year residency program accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.
  • The program aims to provide comprehensive training in otolaryngology, preparing residents for general practice or subspecialty fellowship training through a Competency by Design curriculum.
Research
Residents are expected to complete research projects and present at annual departmental research days, with opportunities to submit to national and international meetings.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple tertiary care facilities in Winnipeg, including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface General Hospital, Children's Hospital, Victoria General Hospital, and CancerCare Manitoba, with opportunities to serve northern communities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education using a staged approach with progressive learning, frequent formative assessments, and milestone-based competencies to ensure comprehensive skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Research portfolio
  • Elective evaluations
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeOHNS.pgme@umanitoba.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35434 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?