Saskatoon - Neurology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programThu 12 Nov 2026,6:30–7:30 pm CSTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
Saskatoon, 1 teaching site
What stands out about this program
Residents run their own weekly supervised continuity clinic from PGY3 through PGY5.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
PGY5 residents take Junior Consultant call, answering outside calls and supervising the junior on-call resident.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year Neurology residency based at Royal University Hospital in Saskatoon, with clinics also in community offices.
- PGY1 and PGY2 are split between Neurology and Internal Medicine rotations, while PGY3 to PGY5 include required Pediatric Neurology, EMG, EEG, Neuropathology and Neuroradiology.
- Call is in-house, and from PGY3 residents run a weekly supervised clinic.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Internal Medicine wards (CTU) (PGY1 and PGY2)
- Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (PGY1 and PGY2)
- non-Neurology clinical rotations (PGY1 and PGY2 · three blocks)
- Pediatric Neurology (PGY3 through PGY5)
- EMG (PGY3 through PGY5)
- EEG (PGY3 through PGY5)
- Neuropathology (PGY3 through PGY5)
- Neuroradiology (PGY3 through PGY5)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 1 teaching site.
- Royal University Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 1 of 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Royal University Hospital
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 12 Nov 2026
6:30–7:30 pm CST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · frequency “one in four nights”
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan's Neurology Residency Program is a small but growing division with an established record of producing excellent clinical neurologists.
- The program offers a comprehensive training experience with a balance of service and educational activities, featuring structured academic sessions, bedside teaching, and diverse clinical exposures.
- Research
- Residents participate in annual Neurology Research days, are encouraged to submit work to national and international meetings, and have opportunities for scholarly projects.
- Training setting
- Located at Royal University Hospital in Saskatoon, with a provincial, distributive learning approach that includes potential rotations in other Saskatchewan communities.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and targeted learning outcomes.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Casper test
- CV content
- Clinical evaluations
- Elective performance
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Research/publications
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Sean Cooley
Dr. Paul MasiowskiProgram Co-Directors
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Neurology elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?